We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Periwinkle Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed here for 12 days during my holiday. It is luxurious and beautiful. Gorgeous views and a fantastic pool, right on the beach. Pascalette and the team are lovely and inviting, they couldn't have been nicer. They looked after us the entire time and did everything we needed. they made restaurant reservations for us. My room was on the top floor and definitely the smallest but had the most amazing views! My only complaint was that the rooms don't have air conditioners and the fans didn't help that much with the heat. I loved that they gave us little Christmas gifts and the baked goods for the guests everyday. I would highly recommend it but if you want to go in December book in January or February.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixiepie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2012

Perhaps the best thing about this hotel is the fantastic view of Robberg beach.

Very nice service (something we found was true all over South Africa), and tea available all day.

We were slightly disappointed with our room, which was on the top floor, and was a lot smaller than others we were able to view-but we can blame our travel agent for this.

Situated on "millionaire's row" street, the location is great.Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyonsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed here for three nights as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. We received a fantastic welcome and our room was modern, clean and had a partial view of the infinity pool and sea. All of the staff were exceptionally helpful and made several restarant recommendations (and reservations for us), and we found the activity folders in the lounge area really helpful for planning what to do during the day. Breakfast was continental and cooked with the cooked done to order and beautifully so.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slwray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Unfortunately, we had only booked one night at this 1st class Lodge, right at the beach.
Pascalette and her staff run a very modern, but at the same time, "cozy" place, with great
rooms, good service and a delightful breakfast, served on the balcony accessible from a
spacious lounge. Our modern and sparkling room faced the ocean with a good look at the Robberg Reserve. Pascalette arranged taxi service, in the evening, to the Lookout Restaurant, which she had recommended and we were not disappointed with her choice. Our travel plans did not allow for a longer stay, which we and friends who travelled with us would have truly enjoyrd. But if we get back to Plett, we will certainly stay at the Periwinkle for a much longer period of time.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnstSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

6 of us had rooms 1,2 and 4. These were on top floor with balconies you could sit 2 on overlooking the sea and the Robberg peninsula. We had room 4 which had no neighbouring rooms and the bathroom was slightly larger than the other 2 rooms. The guest house recommends it as a honeymoon room - unfortunately we are well past that! Free evening drinks at the lounge bar. The cooks made cakes and these were offered at about 3.30 - 4.00 each day. This was a really nice touch.There was also a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival. The guest house has a small gym and a dry sauna. Satellite TV, tea making, milk in a small fridge and safe were all in the rooms. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order. The bread on offer had been freshly cooked in their kitchen The guest house is purpose built and really comfortable with good quality fittings and finishings. Having breakfast in the sun on the lounge balcony looking over the sea was a delight. There is free car parking on the site. The only 2 niggles we had were that the baths were very uncomfortable. They look great but have straight, vertical ends. The other niggle is that you have to climb a number of steps to get to the rooms - but a member of staff was there to help with our bags on arrival, but not on departure.

Room Tip: Room 4 has no neighbouring rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We were very impressed with this modern and stylish lodge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a balcony overlooking the sea, you could lie in bed and listen to the waves. The breakfasts were good, juices, cereals etc. and full english cooked to order. The bathroom was very modern with two wash basins, bath and separate shower. The staff were happy to advise on local restaurants and things to do. The only downside is the amount of steps up to the room lugging suitcases as there are no lifts. We arrived quite late so there wasn't anyone to help us, was no problem getting help on check out. All in all would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janhooper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Overpriced and very limited. On arrival my wife and I was the only guests and we requested to be moved to a room with a fire place which was on the same rate. The manager informed us that they expecting guests the next day and could not move us in to that room which we understood. We weren’t even offered to move in too any of the other rooms which had a fire place even if it was just for one night!

Breakfast was very limited even when the other guests arrived. We stayed for two nights and nothing in the room was topped up.

I definitely would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaseen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
383 reviews
0 mi away
Lodge On The Bay
Lodge On The Bay
#10 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Guest Lodge

Address: 75 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £132 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Periwinkle Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periwinkle Lodge is an up-market guest lodge that is ideally situated with stunning ocean and mountain views. The Lodge offers en suite facilities all with their own balcony. The upstairs suites have private patio or balcony. Generous English or continental breakfast can be enjoyed in the dining room or on the Patio or balcony. Enjoy the warm ambiance that has been created to be the ultimate in hospitality, in an ocean-front mansion that lends itself to relaxation and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Periwinkle Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Guest Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing