We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey bed and breakfast, amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Periwinkle Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homey bed and breakfast, amazing location”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Periwinkle for 2 nights and wished we never had to leave!

The location is a short walk (steps really) from Robberg Beach, perfect for early morning beach runs, afternoon swims and evening strolls.

The infinity pool and deck chairs allow unobstructed views of the crashing surf and the 'honesty bar' mans you never have to go without a craving. The kitchen fridge is stocked with drinks which are self serve, guests are just asked to fill out a receipt to charge their room later. Brilliant!

Every afternoon, the staff make some sort of sweet treat - we had milk tart and a fridge cheesecake during our stay which is set out with afternoon tea for guest to enjoy.

There are only 7 or so rooms in the whole lodge so it feels really private and quiet. The only time we really saw other guests was in the morning at breakfast time.

Breakfast was delicious, a full spread of croissants, breads, cheeses/hams, fruit, fruit juice etc. The staff come around and take your order to make your eggs/bacon/toast choice fresh for you. They also do teas, coffees, cappuccinos and really go out of their way to satisfy every desire.

We discovered the sauna on the bottom floor which is private for 2 people - great way to detox after enjoying all the delicious seafood Plett restaurants have to offer.

I would highly recommend Periwinkle and will be going back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: The standard room has a much lower price as it does not have a private balcony. If that does not mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinae1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    41
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
156
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived on a rainy 3rd April and left on a stunning 6th April (4 nights) and couldn't have found a better place to stay. If you like beach views, Periwinkle Lodge has them in spades. We had room 4 which incidently we found out to be the honeymoon room. It was a superior room, although I think all the rooms would be fantastic here. What set it apart was the view from the balcony.

The lodge itself is run by Pascalette who greets all the guests at breakfast each day and gave you hints and tips on what to do and made restaurant reservations on your behalf. The breakfast was a small buffet selection and then a choice of bacon, eggs, mushroom and tomato cooked how you liked them. To top it off you got to sit and look at the magnificent bay that the lodge looks out onto.

The room itself was a nice size, not the biggest but thats not what we are bothered about really. The staff could not do enough to help and were friendly and accommodating. A hidden gem as it comes up as a lodge and not a hotel on Tripadvisor, but you couldn't wish for more perfect accomodation!

Room Tip: There is no lift in the lodge so if you are not good at walking up stairs, ask for a lower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D81504 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signau, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We found the B & B on the homepage of Hilda Lustenberger. We already traveled with here, we knew that she has always good overnight stays. We were right. Perfect support by Pascalette by making reservation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine & Wer... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great place to stay and such personal service from Pascalette, Rosey and Maurice. I would highly recommend it . You can also get surfing lessons from the lovely Clayton and it has a great chilled out vibe

Room Tip: Only thing missing is a wine list
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We loved our stay at Periwinkle - excellent location, service and extremely friendly staff (and delicious breakfasts!!). We would however not recommend it for a family holiday as the rooms are slightly too small, Ideal for singles or couples though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 2NLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights March 14. The guest house is not particularly attractive from the outside but inside it is amazing, particularly the large open living area on the 1st floor with large balcony allowing great views of the sea. The bedrooms are small but nevertheless adequate with fan but no air con. This might be an issue during high summer but wasn't for us during the 2nd half of March. The guest house is approximately 2-3 km from the town centre - just a short drive or taxi ride. We were recommended not to walk, as in most places in S.A. The owner and staff were very welcoming and friendly, with good recommendations for things to see, e.g. The walk along the Robberg peninsular which was sensational with views of the seal colony. The lodge is a couple of minutes walk from one of the best,cleanest beaches I have ever seen. The sea is quite cold with waves and a rip current, so swimming is difficult. I had to make do with jumping into the waves. No sharks in the bay apparently. Breakfast was excellent. Afternoon tea and coffee with cakes and complementary wine early evening. There are no staff in the property overnight which wasn't a problem for us. There is an emergency button to press if required between 8pm and 8 am ! Needless to say we didn't need to use it. Overall we had a very pleasant stay here and we would definitely use this guest house again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We enjoyed thoroughly our last three nights at this fantastic boutique hotel from the 13th to the 15th March 2014. The staff were so helpful and the whole experience was amazing cannot wait to return.

Thank you for looking after us so well.

Kind regards

Alastair & Diana Grieve UK

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite, excellent room nos 2, but any room looking over the bay is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
724 reviews
1.7 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Christiana Lodge
Christiana Lodge
#15 of 69 in Plettenberg Bay
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#9 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#13 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Guest Lodge

Property: Periwinkle Guest Lodge
Address: 75 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Periwinkle Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periwinkle Lodge is an up-market guest lodge that is ideally situated with stunning ocean and mountain views. The Lodge offers en suite facilities all with their own balcony. The upstairs suites have private patio or balcony. Generous English or continental breakfast can be enjoyed in the dining room or on the Patio or balcony. Enjoy the warm ambiance that has been created to be the ultimate in hospitality, in an ocean-front mansion that lends itself to relaxation and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Periwinkle Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Guest Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing