We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could have stayed here for a few days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Unfortunately, we had only one night in Milkwood. We would have loved to avail of the canoes that Kees (the host) offered us to paddle around the creek, and there lovely walks in the area. Hopefully, another time!
We had a good-sized room and comfortable bed, with great sea views. I don" t know why they spoil the view with the bars on the windows?
We had lovely dinner and wine in their Lemongrass restaurant that evening. However, the highlight for us was the breakfast - eaten out on the sunny patio, with the waves crashing on the adjacent beach. Idyllic, we really enjoyed our stay here.
Finally, when we were leaving, we found that all the guests cars had been washed and polished. Brilliant. Our car was filthy, as we had been in Addo Elephant Park the previous day, and I really appreciated haing it cleaned for me.

Room Tip: We had a great sea view, but noticed that rooms on the right hand side also had a balcony, as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinCOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for your kind review and we are sorry that you only had one night to enjoy Milkwood Manor and Lemongrass. The bars, unfortunately, are for your safety and that of your belongings. We hope that you you will be able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

Nice location outside of the busy town. Free kayaks for going on the river that runs right by. Ocean beach is right there as well. Expensive to stay compared to other equivalent places in South Africa but it has a great restaurant attached and the rooms are pretty nice. We would stay again. Friendly owner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean or river view. Rooms over the restaurant can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding views. We hope to welcome you back to Milkwood Manor again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Spent 3 nights here at the beginning of March 2013 at the end of a trip that started in Cape Town followed by a drive through the Garden Route and onto a Game Reserve before a warm down by the sea in Plettenberg. Lovely location right by the sea - probably the best spot in Plett. Had a magnificent view over the sea and lagoon from the balcony - maybe would have been improved if a table umbrella to shield us from the strong sun had been available. The room was spacious and, though not air-conditioned, the fan provided was satisfactory. Thanks to Kees for sorting out a problem with the shower. Lemongrass Restaurant is excellent - breakfasts and evening meals equally enjoyable in a marvellous setting.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea/lagoon view. We saw dolphins from our balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubynLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Milkwood Manor. We have improved Milkwood Manor, every step of the way from feedback from our guests and your suggestions are always welcome. We hope to welcome you back to Milkwood Manor again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Had two nights here, its a very good looking place right on the beach and you can take canoes or swim just nearby. Room was a little bit small, but we had a lovely balcony overlooking the sea and we didn't spend too long in the room anyway so wasn't a problem at all. Also if the weather is good recommend sundowners on the roof terrace, what a view!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iheartplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our Milkwood Manor views! We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stayed three nights at Milkwoood Manor which is in a superb location and I much appreciated the warm welcome I was given. The staff were all very friendly and helpful in ensuring that taxis were available for me to visit various attractions in the area. I was offered an upgrade of room for the first two nights which gave me a balcony to enjoy the splendid views. Kees the owner takes an interest in his guests and there are plenty of leaflets and guides on what to do in the area and beyond. I had dinner every evening at the Lemon Grass restaurant where the service was good and the food of an exceptionally high standard. I rate this establishment as a first class Guest House and would have no hesitation in recommending to family and friends and hope one day for a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iheartplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Milkwood Manor again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Kees the owner greeted us on arrival and then came outside and sat with us and showed us all maps and things to do in Plett Bay - really helpfull. Our room must have been the best, wrap round balcony (room 12) so light and airy. Ceiling fan great, no need for aircon as you have the see breeze. The hotel was spotless clean and the staff great. Breakfast was good and if you didn't want the full English there was fruit, cheese, hams and they would cook you an omlette of your choice if you required. As we had to leave at 5.30 am to drive to Camps Bay the staff made us up fresh sandwiches, fruit and drink to take with us. We will be back for sure, thank you.

Room Tip: Go for room 12, top floor, lots of windows, overlooks everywhere and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Manor. We endeavour to ensure that each guest has the best possible experience at Milkwood Manor and hope to welcome you back to Milkwood Manor again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Friends of mine from the UK have just spent 6 nights at the above B/B, they were promised a balcony facing sea facing room. On arrival the room had a lovely view but no balcony and they were paying a high season rate. When they requested a telephone in the room, this was unavailable, which in this day and age is totally unacceptable. The restaurent had been let out for all meals other than breakfast which had to be eaten between 8:00 and 9:00. If they perhaps wanted a a mid-morning drink, i.e: tea or coffee this was unavailable.An establisment of this nature certainly does not deserve a 4 star retaing and it;s sad that overseas visators will reurn to the UK and never recommend it. From MaGoose1

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaGoose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for your review. We understand that you did not personally visit Milkwood Manor and feel that there are a few points that need to be addressed. Firstly, this booking was made via a tour operator and this “promise” of a balcony room was in no way confirmed by Milkwood Manor.
In fact, the confirmation email clearly stated: “confirm that an upstairs room with a view of the ocean from the bedroom, queen bed and en-suite bathroom has been booked for them. There is no balcony on this room”. This was explained to the guests at the time and they were aware that should be taken up with their tour operator.
Secondly, in this “day and age” most travellers carry mobile phones and the Milkwood Manor portable phone was made available to these guests for their private conversation.
Thirdly, tea and coffee is made available in the room of each guest, for their convenience.
We feel it is important to note that Milkwood Manor is a Guest House and not a Hotel and amenities differ between these. At Milkwood Manor, we endeavour to offer each guest the best possible service and experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
563 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
759 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
375 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
551 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Manor on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Manor on Sea

Address: Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £72 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Manor on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The most enviable location on the Garden Route. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, jutting into the ocean - any closer and you would be in it! - as well as the estuary of a large lagoon- no neighbours but nature! Exquisite, unimpeded 180 views (360 from the roof deck) of the vast blue ocean, golden beaches, large lagoon and the imposing Tsitsikamma Mountain Range. Nature all'round, yet not isolated, but only a 2-minute drive from the town centre and its trendy shops.A pristine beach: accessible from the sheltered cove adjacent to the Manor - ideal for swimming in natural water – you may boat across to an unspoiled and usually deserted beach, far from built-up areas, traffic, crowds and noise. Blissful solitude and a complete immersion in nature, with only the sound of white-crested surf tumbling at one’s feet and the calls of a medley of seabirds – a veritable bird sanctuary. Becalming and rejuvenating - the perfect antidote for stress,. With luck you may even find the mysterious and sought-after pansy shell (sand dollar).The Manor: built in classic Georgian style, with an airy double-volume foyer and eleven double bedrooms, most with private patio or balcony. All rooms are decorated in crisp white and en-suite to a shower cubicle with/without bath, and a queen bed or twin beds, TV-hospitality package, free uncapped Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, fan, heater and hairdryer. The sash windows allow the fresh ocean air straight in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Milkwood Manor on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milkwood Manor Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing