We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrives on its location not its service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I dont normally give out 2's but reserved this specially for this occasion, If you want to stay on top of the beach, perfect. Don't expect much else though. On arrival, we had to drag our cases by ourselves up some narrow staircase, we didnt know who the staff was, as they wore no name tags, we asked 3 times for a restaurant booking and the only person that did it was a lady called margaret, who we dubbed 'the do-er' as none else knew or did anything we asked. Staff dont seem to have an office and one day the waiter from the restaurant next door was on the reception desk(bit wierd), they sit in foyer and Geust lounge doing their work (and accounting), noses buried in laptops. We had a surprise voucher for a bottle of bubbles, but they could've atleast make it a full bottle, not just half. However the glasses we drank out the first night was still there when we left 3 days later. The shower pressure was minimal at best, the shower seemed a bit dated. We thought it a nice touch when our car was washed the day of arrival, however the 3 rd consecutive day of our car being washed it was a bit weird. I'd say get in a better host, update the decor a bit and help Geust upstairs with the luggage and when you give stuff for free, atleast don't seem so Stingy. I would definitely not go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Mrvwyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Owner at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Mrvwyk,
This is a real wake-up call!
Very necessary it seems; that is the danger of receiving mostly high approvals, it can be easy to become complacent.
thank you for your assessment, and do return in the future...
Hopefully you'll be pleasantly surprised at the improvements.
Kind regards,
Kees (owner)
Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Twelve of us stayed for three nights only complaint is that we were unable to stay longer. We were fortunate to draw room no.6. A spacious first floor room with the balcony overlooking the bay and ocean. Do not hesitate in booking the Manor, the staff , the rooms and the excellent breakfast are all first class along with the super Lemon Tree Restaurant. Just a short stroll on the beach will take you to the Look Out, a great bar again looking out to sea, they also have a great menu for that al fresco dining experience.
A very special experience, and one that will stay with me for a very long time.

Room Tip: ask for balcony with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dearest Tim c,
Thank you for a lovely review! You were a delightfully noisy and vibrant group, and we thoroughly enjoyed your presence in the Manor. It is seldom that we get a large flock of Englishmen to entertain us with such jovial savoir-faire; thus you are always welcome to return. The cool lagoon is waiting for you to take a refreshing dip, and the cocktails are ready when you dry off. Until next time, have a super adventure!
Regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This location is as close as we might ever get to paradise, situated as it is between a tranquil lagoon and the sea, so five days was too short for us. Everyone associated with the hotel and adjoining restaurant - the Lemon Grass - did everything possible to ensure we couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. We stayed in room 4 on the ground floor which was extremely spacious and comfortable, with views from the terrace onto a spectacular vista. Advice from Kees and Margaret, the owners, was invaluable and meant we enjoyed the surrounding area fully, we simply can't thank you enough for that and we will be back to further enjoy the breathtaking views and walks. Meanwhile, a highly recommended destination and suggest you share our enjoyment by staying here! Thank you Milkwood Manor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your awesome review Ray H.
We are so pleased that you got to share in the full Milkwood Manor experience. There simply is none other like it, and as you say five days simply are not enough. But there's always next time, so please be sure to come back anytime. The beach awaits your footprints at sunset. Best wishes and have a happy journey.
Regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Situated right on the beach this is an excellent place to relax. Small hotel so you are not just a number. We had a ground floor room with patio and great ocean view. The owner is very keen to share his local knowledge and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Good spot for exploring the local area. It was a hot day when we arrived and we were concerned there was no air conditioning but with windows open there was a delightful sea breeze.

Attached is the Lemon Tree restaurant which has excellent food.

Room Tip: Sea view room with patio worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItsAllOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear ItsAllOne,
YES, YES, YES! We do have the best location in Plettenberg Bay and we are thrilled that you enjoyed it as much as we do. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. You are welcome to come and visit us again any time. Until then - safe travels and a happy journey. Best regards, Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This place is on a lagoon, a stunning location. There is the convenience of a restaurant there, breakfast is really good, the manor itself is beautiful. I would highly recommend this place. ONLY negative was the dirty windows, which made seeing the beautiful views slightly more difficult!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ll8555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Il8555,
Thank you for your review of Milkwood Manor on Sea. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your experience as much as we enjoyed having you. There is but one disadvantage of our beautiful position on the world famous Lookout Beach, and that is the amount of salt and sand that gets carried in the strong South winds that sullies the windows. The views however do not go anywhere and can be enjoyed from any outside area even your sun-drenched balcony overlooking the Indian Ocean, Lagoon or the beaches that stretch all the way to the Tsitsikamma Mountain range. We hope for you to return in the near future. Until then Enjoy the journey. Kind regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This place is just divine! We had the most amazing two nights here and have already reserved to go back. We stayed in room two which I think must be by far the best room with its own private terrace and a lagoon and sea view. The staff at reception are wonderful, the rooms are beautiful and spacious, the building itself is grand yet somehow doesn't ruin the landscape. Just perfect.

My only criticism was that the waiter we had at the Lemon Grass restaurant for dinner was pretty rude to us - but that's not a review of the hotel but the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilster33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hi there Wilster,

Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you had a great Milkwood Manor experience, but how else, with the amount of sunshine and beach weather we've been having lately. We cannot wait to have you back here with us, frolicking on the beach, off on a new adventure every day, shopping your socks off. Ah, this is the life...
Until then, have an awesome journey and safe travels.
Best regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A thoroughly enjoyable stay in a perfect setting. We were made to feel very special. While at Milkwood Manor, we had to contact home for an emergency. Our thanks and appreciation to Leon on reception for looking up numbers and being so helpful. Without you going the extra mile, we would not have been able to enjoy our holiday.
Meals were an absolute treat in the well run, friendly restaurant. We were bowled over with the quality of the food and service. We loved it so much, we kept returning. Try the silverfish if it is available.
Rooms was comfortable and unpretentious. Loved being so close to the beach, having the car washed every day and being surrounded by people who were always cheerful and smiling.
Wish we were there now. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiler023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hello Smiler,
Thank you for taking the time to review Milkwood Manor on Sea.
It is easy to always be cheerful and friendly when you live in one of the most beautiful places on earth, right on an ever-changing beach with great weather all year round. and then to top it all off, to have great people like you to share it with! We are truly glad that you had a great Milkwood Manor experience, and we would love to have you return sometime in the near future. We hope everything turned out OK in the end back at home. You were a great couple, very kind and giving - The next time you visit be sure to book a sea-facing room with balcony, and the first round is on us.
Best wishes,
Milkwood Manor on Sea (L)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.8 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
817 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
607 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#7 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
140 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#14 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#8 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Manor on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Manor on Sea

Address: Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £52 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Manor on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The most enviable location on the Garden Route. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, jutting into the ocean - any closer and you would be in it! - as well as the estuary of a large lagoon- no neighbours but nature! Exquisite, unimpeded 180 views (360 from the roof deck) of the vast blue ocean, golden beaches, large lagoon and the imposing Tsitsikamma Mountain Range. Nature all'round, yet not isolated, but only a 2-minute drive from the town centre and its trendy shops.A pristine beach: accessible from the sheltered cove adjacent to the Manor - ideal for swimming in natural water – you may boat across to an unspoiled and usually deserted beach, far from built-up areas, traffic, crowds and noise. Blissful solitude and a complete immersion in nature, with only the sound of white-crested surf tumbling at one’s feet and the calls of a medley of seabirds – a veritable bird sanctuary. Becalming and rejuvenating - the perfect antidote for stress,. With luck you may even find the mysterious and sought-after pansy shell (sand dollar).The Manor: built in classic Georgian style, with an airy double-volume foyer and eleven double bedrooms, most with private patio or balcony. All rooms are decorated in crisp white and en-suite to a shower cubicle with/without bath, and a queen bed or twin beds, TV-hospitality package, free uncapped Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, fan, heater and hairdryer. The sash windows allow the fresh ocean air straight in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Milkwood Manor on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milkwood Manor Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing