We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, lovely pool and evryone was very friendly and helpful.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swallow's Nest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
ESSEX
1 review
“Lovely view, lovely pool and evryone was very friendly and helpful.”
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Stayed there with our 2 year old, he loved the pool! Just down the road from the B&B in the opposite direction to town is a big shopping mall, great for us as it had Spurs (a family restaurant).
Really enjoyed our 3 nights there.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexKiwi_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2009

The rooms were pleasant, clean and had everything we needed. The host(s) were most hospitable, even going out of their way to attend to our special needs. The overall service was excellent. The place is conveniently situated within walking distance of the lagoon and a shopping centre.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank south9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2009

The rooms were very nicely appointed, comfortable and clean. The Host(s) made us feel extremely welcome and we felt that all our needs were met, or attended to.
The abode is accessible to a lot of extra activities, and there is a wonderful lagoon within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tornoto
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We spent one comfortable night at Swallow's Nest.
The rooms were clean and conveniently stocked with extras like reading materials and umbrellas.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TornotoNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2008

It was the best location we have ever stayed at on our way from Port Elizabeth south to Cape Town. It is such a lovely place. The rooms are so beautifully decorated and well equipped - it feels like a home away from home. You can see this on the homepage or take a look at the B&B Guide issued by South African Authorities (and supervised regularly by officials). Thanks so much to "G" who runs the Swallows Nest - he took care of everything and gave us such helpful advice. We also appreciate the delicious breakfast - e.g. the daily fresh homemade scones or the tasty fruit salads made by Gerry.
The staff were very friendly and everything was spotlessly clean.
We highly recommend Swallows Nest. We extended our stay twice - it was difficult to leave.

Petra & Michael, Frankfurt/Germany

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2008

Arrived with our 2 children to stay in large family room with kitchenette. Introduced to dingy room with insufficient space for extra beds. Grim dark brown 70's style kitchen. Bathroom old and moulding - very good location but find somewhere else to stay. Would not recommend to anyone - we found other lovely place to stay for same price.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMKUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2007

Swallowsnest is included in the Portfolio Brochure issued by the South African Authorities and requiring regular inspection by qualified officials.
My wife and I have stayed at Swallowsnest the last four years and have been delighted with our reception and subsequent treatment.
The owners, Gerry and Terite Bleeker are assiduous in the care offered to their guests, and the accomodation is of the highest order.
The staff are delightful and efficient and the salt water swimming pool is immaculately maintained.
It is always a pleasure to renew our acquaintance with our English and German friends who also spend February in Plettenberg Bay.
We are returning to Swallowsnest next year and are already looking forward to our visit.

  • Liked — The owners who are totally charming
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hallconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 9 in The Crags
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lyell's  B&B
Lyell's B&B
#50 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
A Whale of a View
A Whale of a View
#44 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beacon Lodge
Beacon Lodge
#41 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallow's Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow's Nest Bed and Breakfast

Property: Swallow's Nest Bed and Breakfast
Address: 61 Beacon Way | PO Box 1308, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallows Nest is within walking distance of the lagoon, Lookout Beach shops and restaurants. Beautiful sea, lagoon and mountain view from the bedrooms and enclosed breakfast area. Downstairs rooms overlook the garden and swimming pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing