We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Watch Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Our third visit to Judy and Glenn, wonderful Guest house, Great attention to detail. Rooms, views over the bay, ambience, service, cleanliness all first class with a great happy staff.
We took our friends there for the first time and they were truly amazed that a place like this exists.
Murray, Lorraine, Sheila and Especially Tom

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Watch Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed in Ocean Watch in November 2011 and absolutely loved it - there aren't enough superlatives to describe it. The views are amazing, rooms are fabulous, breakfast delicious and it's in a great location. However the best of all was the staff in the guesthouse - they couldn't do enough to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. It was one of the highligts of a great holiday in South Africa and we'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view (most have it). We stayed in the Caribbean Suite which was beautiful.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

What a fantastic place to stay and the views from the beedrooms lovely what a shame the weather was not better. Super breakfast lovely hosts

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pauline3711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here with Judy and Glenn who are great hosts and very relaxed. We met Jessie on arrival and she made us feel very welcome and was bright and cheerful throughout our stay. The location is excellent and the top quality furnishings and decor throughout the guest house are really great and help give it a lovely relaxed ambience. We stayed in the Caribbean room which was really nicely decorated and had a lovely terrace directly outside which we were lucky enough to have all to ourselves. Breakfast was set up outside on the patio each morning and we had lovely views out across the ocean in the early morning sunshine. The pictures on the web give you a really good idea but nothing can capture the true impression when you first arrive - it's fantastic. Judy recommended some nice places to eat and we particularly liked the Lemon Grass and Lookout which give you two different types of dining experience but both with great food. We would not hesitate to recommend Ocean Watch. We were made to feel special and really appreciated the personal touches and we hope to return one day. Given the other guest houses we stayed in along the Garden Route we consider Ocean Watch to be superb value for money and for us it was the best overall.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomatez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at Ocean Watch only for one night in March, 2011. The room was spotless and absolutely perfect! The staff set out a full on buffet breakfast in the morning even though it was only the two of us.

The views from Ocean Watch are truly amazing and the pool was great fun. When in Plett this establishment is an absolute must, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas_Genade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We immensely enjoyed our stay at Ocean Watch in March 2011 during our second consecutive holiday in South Africa. It is located in a superb position with wonderful
views of Plett Bay from our room and other rooms. It is located in an attractive area close to the town centre and there is an excellent Italian restaurant nearby. We stayed in the Caribbean suite which is spacious, beautifully decorated and sparkling clean.
Breakfasts were excellent and substantial with a wide choice of food. Parking is on site and very secure. There are 2 elegant lounges with satellite TV for use by guests and a nice swimming pool that stays in the sun for much of the day.

Glenn and Judy, the owners are marvellous hosts - friendly and helpful giving good tips, recommendations and restaurant reservations. Our hike around the Robberg Peninsula was probably the best we have had in South Africa, aided by the wealth of information from Glenn.
Our only disappointment was that we stayed at Ocean Watch for just 2 nights;
however we will return in 2012 for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Shell, Caribbean and Colonial rooms have best view
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We stayed in Ocean Watch Guest House at the start of March. We arrived early and were welcomed in- I called ahead and they did their best to get the room ready which they did which was most helpful!

We were shown around the house and then to our room which was beautiful. We stayed in the Caribbean room which was clean, large and beautifully dressed. There was port in the room and the house which you were able to help yourself too. We met Judy a few hours after we arrived, she was very welcoming and advised us where to go for supper- we went to the Lookout which offered fresh fish, great atmosphere and food- we went twice!

The next day we met Glen who was just as lovely and welcoming as Judy. We'd just got engaged and this was a great place to stay just to relax after the rest of the Garden Route.

Plettenburg doesnt have tonnes to do but is a great base for everything around it, we went to the Bloukrans Bungee jump which was close and the monkey sanctuary- there were a lot more places to go but we really wanted to relax - this was perfect for it!

Breakfast was beautiful, we sat ourside both morning and looked over the bay, the table was set up lovely. We had our orders taken and breakfast was cooked very well, quite a selection.

The door to our room came off its slider and was fixed immediately which was great. I would highly reccommend this guest house and am glad I chose this over a hotel. I would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophia_harrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
554 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
746 reviews
3.4 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
786 reviews
4.2 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
279 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#12 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Watch Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Watch Guesthouse

Address: 12 Perestrella Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £48 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Watch Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Ocean Watch Guesthouse is situated on the coastal hill side of Plettenberg and within 10 minutes' walk from the beach. The guest house has a sun deck with sun loungers and outdoor pool overlooking the ocean. Decorated in neutral tones, the elegant rooms at Ocean Watch are well equipped with private bathroom/ shower. Most of the rooms are sea facing. Restaurants and cafes can be found within 2 km radius. The guest house can help you organise tours, activities and transfers. Robberg Nature Reserve is 6 km away and Keurboomstrand is a 12-minute drive. This property also has one of the best-rated locations in Plettenberg Bay! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. This property is also rated for the best value in Plettenberg Bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Watch Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing