We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Watch Guest House
Ranked #20 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“House with a view”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The perfect place to relax from a trip on garden route. The view from the terrace was overwhelming. We had a very nice and comfortable room. The breakfast was fantastic and we enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of Judy and Glenn. Judy is the master of a tasteful decoration! The location is perfect, a 10 minutes walk to the gorgeous beach and 5 minutes to main street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AN_AN_GRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    15
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
101
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We were disappointed with our stay at this guest house. From their website the place looked lovely, and although it was more expensive than we would have liked to have paid, we decided to book it as it looked so nice. When we arrived Glen and Judy were very friendly and welcoming and we had lovely views from our window. We expected to be closer to the sea and were a little suprised that we were further away than we thought. However, we thought we would have a lovely stay. After returning from dinner we found that our room had cockroaches! Having never visited Plettenberg Bay before I'm not sure whether this is the norm with a place like that, but it made for a very unsettled night indeed! We would not return to this guest house.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EmilyNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed 1 night, an extremely clean place with a fantastic view of the bay, lovely breakfast friendly owners, though we only met the housekeeper on evening of arrival.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmuggeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Ocean Watch is an attractive guest house set in a great location in Plett. The views are fantastic overlooking the bay to the east, with the main street and beaches only a short stroll away. We stayed in the Shell room which was spacious and had great views of the bay. Glenn & Judy were very friendly and welcoming as hosts and their staff made a scrumptious breakfast! However, we did feel that it was quite expensive compared to other B&B's we had stayed in on our South Africa trip...though Plett does seem to be generally more expensive than less touristy areas. The only minor negatives were that some aspects could do with updating e.g. having a full shower in the room instead of a bath and handheld shower, but overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend this place to friends and family.

Room Tip: Shell room had a great view...but so did the terrace outside the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurricaneboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Ocean View is well placed in Plettenburg Bay a short walk from the town and beach and with spectacular views eastwards across the bay. A well designed spacious house the rooms on the upper floor are especially good with a terrace on which to enjoy the view, breeze, sun and the odd bottle of good South African wine. A very small plunge pool in the garden. Breakfasts are well supplied with everything you might want to choose. But ..... some things are beginning to show signs of wear and tear and should be repaired, replaced, refurbished. An example - the sun shade parasol on the terrace was broken and had obviously been in that state for some time. The owners need to pay more attention. They live off site. Whilst we were there some other guests arrived just after 6.00pm having been delayed on the road from Cape Town. The owners had gone for the night, no-one to let them in and check them in. We opened the door, they phoned and the owners came round saying with a laugh how lucky they were to catch them as they were just on their way out. And breakfast becomes a bit of a production with the hostess floating around in her finery introducing all the guests to each other while her staff do all the work. So - good, but could be better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 38Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We've already recommended Ocean Watch to friends. Vibrant hosts, perfect breakfasts and especially the view from the balcony and small pool made this the best guesthouse experience on our journey along the garden route.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Spent 2 nights in this amazing guest house... they have truly captured the feel of a beach house haven! Very spacious house, beautifully decorated with stunning views of the beach from almost everywhere - definitely worth it to choose one of the sea facing rooms. Friendly staff and helpful hosts always willing to offer suggestions on restaurants and attractions. Delicious breakfast is also a plus - from warm croissants, to fresh fruit salad and made to order omelletes - you'll definitely feel that you're on vacation when you're eating a lovely breakfast outside, by the pool with a view of the ocean just beyond! Most definitely the place to stay on a visit to Plettenberg Bay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#9 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Watch Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Watch Guest House

Property: Ocean Watch Guest House
Address: 12 Perestrella Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Watch Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Watch Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing