We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go there!”
Review of Africa's Call

Africa's Call
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Africa's Call
Ranked #73 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2012

After booking our Honeymoon from a website, we arrived at Africa's Call only to find that this facility is not what they portray on the website. No king size bed (double only) No Champagne (not even drinking glasses in room) No Kettle or cups to make coffee. No Ice in fridge. No soap in bathroom (they are cutting costs the manager Dean Taylor said) Dirty bathroom (pictures taken) NO HOT WATER !!!!. Satellite TV not working. These were only a few things we were unhappy with. Because it was a Sunday evening and we just drove over a1000km we said to the manager that we would only stay that one night and would leave just after breakfast the next morning. At breakfast we had to wait 40 minutes as they had no eggs in the kitchen. We demanded a payback of our deposit (R3000) as this was a misrepresentation of who they really are. The owner said that he will get legal advice before any payments will be made. according to the signboards this was suppose to be a 4 Star accredited B&B. Luckily we found other accommodation but this did not make up for the fact that we now had R3000 less to spend on our honeymoon. All we want is a refund !

Room Tip: Do not go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myburgh_Egpaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

We found Africa's Call while driving through the fantastic residential area over-looking the Robberg beach area. Being just a couple of minutes from the most breathtaking beach it's surely an excellent location for summer visits, but we enjoyed the quiet atmosphere on the beautifully sunny June days (we walked down to the beach for the sunset and again the next morning for the sunrise where we also saw a group of dolphins).
Africal-style interior, spacious rooms and beautiful common areas, relaxed and open management (who understands Italian) and good breakfast.
We could leave our car in the garage. We walked to an absolutely eccellent restaurant down the street, Scotty's, but for other restaurants you will need to take your car.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina_firenze_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We stayed in the family suite for two nights. The rooms were beautiful. The service was fantastic, with great breakfasts and plenty of room to sit out of an evening under the Booma. Nothing was too much trouble and we were even lent a travel plug and a hose pipe to clean the car windscreen. The pool area was nice though we just headed straight for the nearby beach instead.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

We turned up in Plett without accommodation during our month-long holiday in South Africa. We just happened upon Africa's Call while driving by the beach and it turned out to be our favourite place of the holiday. We initially checked into a small room, which wasn't the best with us, our four-month baby, and tons of kitesurfing gear and luggage. However the next day Greg upgraded us to a honeymoon suite, which was so beautiful and comfortable.

The breakfasts were indeed fabulous and hit upon all my favourites - pancakes, muffins, scones. The cooked breakfasts were also fab. The best part was Alta instantly had our baby at ease, and let us eat breakfast while she got him smiling and laughing.

We stayed six nights and hated to leave. Other places we stayed on the trip were also lovely, but Africa's Call had it all - location, great people, comfort.

Stayed: December 2008
2  Thank chantellep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

Chose Africa's call after researching places for a 1-night stop in Plettenberg. We arrived mid afternoon on the off-chance we could check-in but there was nobody there. No a real problem - and OK its a guesthouse not a hotel - but something to be aware of if you arrive before the evening. We booked on e of the smaller rooms, but were upgraded on arrival to one of the large "honeymoon" suites which was very large and comfortable. We especially liked the jacuzzi.

Breakfast the next morning was really good, especially the home-made scones that were delicious. There was plenty of food available, really much more than we could eat (and we have healthy appetites). The manager, Alta (?) was very friendly and chatty.

Only (small) gripe was that the secure parking was a bit tight. I'm not sure they really would have room for all the cars if they were full.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2007

Great guesthouse, located 1 minute from the beach. House itself was really nicely decorated, nice rooms. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Location was in the more suburban area of Robberg Beach, but was only a 5/10 minute drive or taxi to the centre of Plett. Location wise Plett is a great little resort and well placed for Tsitikama and its attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dwella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2007

We traveled to Africa’s Call in September 07 for a wedding and had a really fantastic time. The guest house is only a couple of hundred metres from the beach and you drift off to sleep with the sound of the waves filling the room

Our room was spacious and comfortable and we were fascinated with the exposed thatched roof which covers the house and lends itself to the African theme very well.


The house was clean and we experienced an excellent breakfast of home baked treats such as pancakes and muffins and legendary omellettes which were all freshly prepared that morning

Being the inquisitive type, Greg and Jen showed us the changes they have made in the last year and we were really impressed by the changes made to the Island Style room, which is now orientated around the pool area instead of the driveway / garage.

Looking forward to meeting Killie, the German Shepherd, we found that she has moved off the premises for a more active way of life. Greg did make a special effort however to let us take her to the beach for a walk, bringing her after breakfast.

The beach is fantastic, approx 4kms of sandy beach and on our walk were fortunate enough to see a huge pod of dolphins jumping in the waves.

All in all a perfect trip and we hope to be back

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MartinBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
565 reviews
5.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
552 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
#1 of 2 in Keurboomstrand
392 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
276 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#2 of 9 in The Crags
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa's Call? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa's Call

Address: 19 Cordovan Crescent, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £190 - £569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the bush meets the beach, luxury accommodation 150m from the beach with an all African still, with first class service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing