We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best surprise and view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We decided to stay over in Keurbooms after attending our monthly Skal meeting and lunch at Enrico's restaurant. A last minute decision that has us wanting to spend more time in this well run, friendly and beautifully laid out Lodge. OUr rooms where spacious, very clean and the view couldn't have been better - literally on the waters edge. The sound of the sea crashing against the rocks lulled us to sleep - a great relaxing experience we will not wait long to experience again.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good but a couple are a little larger with huge terraces, get one of these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaynie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

What an awesome experience!
We had just returned from a week in Mauritius and we commented that we should have rather spent the week at The Singing Kettle. So relaxing, we can't wait to return there.
I will recommend this beautiful, clean, modern B&B to everyone!

Room Tip: We were in room 5 but it seemed that each one would have had advantages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

this place is great, quiet, simple, clean friendly. the views are superb over the beach.
Rooms are white and simple - there is milk etc in the fridge.
Situated over Enricos Italian Restaurant - we had the best fish ever. fresh, cooked perfectly and served with efficiency and friendly staff - this restaurant is clearly a local gem. its worth the trip for the beach and Enricos. I would recommend this combination of accommodation & restaurant to others. Also - I would recommend staying here and tripping into Plett, rather than staying in Plett.

Room Tip: 5 6 & 7 are farther away from the restaurant below, but that said, its not over noisy or a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bentimbobdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

The Singing Kettle is situated right at the beaches of Keurboomstrand and offers great views of the ocean. We only stayed one night but were lucky enough to spot some dolphins from our balcony.

The lodge and the rooms are very clean. Although the main floor had a slight strange smell, which arised from some fresh, but smelly, flowers as we later found out. The rooms offer TV and internet access, if you don´t want to stay on your balcony the whole evening.

Under the lodge is an italian restaurant, which offers fresh fish and pizza, so that you can leave your car in the parking spot and enjoy a bottle of wine. If you want to go to the center of Plettenberg Bay you need about 10 minutes.

Unfortunately the lodge doesn´t offer breakfast, aside from the muesli you can prepare yourself. But therefore the pricing is reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoenerPommes_Bini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We so enjoyed our 2 nights and wished we had been their longer and so convienent for the surrounding area without being in the centre of Plettenberg. The rooms were fantastic and comfortable with the resturant offering fantastic choice of Italian and local food - recommend the fish. Go for room 1 with the full length window and soak up the view and enjoy a cool drink on the balcony listening to the sounds of the ocean.
Davids and Anna

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We had room 5 - with glorious views along the beach at Keurboomstrand. The room was clean and fresh - with a fridge containing milk and yoghurt. Fresh coffee was also available, plus muesli for the morning. Also a basket of fruit. Only criticism is that the shower-room was small and stuffy - but a minor point.

Wireless internet access was available - though in the central sitting room rather than in our room. There is dedicated free parking behind the Lodge and restaurant - with security provided by the staff that provide security for the restaurant.

The lodge sits over Enrico's restaurant - which benefits from the wonderful location and views. We made the mistake on the 1st night of just picking food off the menu - and missed out on the specials! We had to send back a plate of calamari which was overcooked and terribly dry. However - unless you want to drive there's nowhere else around to eat - so we braved it the second night and had a fantastic meal (rump steak and rocket salad).

Before going we had worried about noise from the restaurant - don't worry - the only noise you'll hear is the sound of the breaking waves on the shore!

Our 2nd evening was also made special by being able to watch a school of approx 100 dolphins swimming past!!

There are shops nearby in Plettenberg Bay (a few km drive) - where you can find supermarkets etc if you decide to cater for yourselves. We spent a great morning at the Knysna Elephant Park which we highly recommend - a chance to feed and touch elephants!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiltshiretraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

what a lovely guesthouse. We wanted to chill out for 2 days with no fuss.
simple and beautiful. ideal for someone wanting to relax away from crowd

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chestydeise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
11.2 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
282 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 10 in The Crags
136 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bitou River Lodge
Bitou River Lodge
#10 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#13 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
211 reviews
7 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#4 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
304 reviews
6.3 mi away
Franmarel
Franmarel
#27 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant

Address: Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £84 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing