We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Cross Beach House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beacon Island Resort(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Africa Rooms(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keurbooms River Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
43
37
13
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
37
13
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboard walkrobberg beachguest housecolonial feelb bsea airprivate access to the beachrooms are niceelectric blanketsnature reserveindian oceanbeautiful settingtwo nightsother guestsa lovely stayyogurteach morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Southern Cross. Ed was fantastic with his personalized service. A very tastefully decorated room, all in cream and white were cramped. It may be because it was the smallest room they have available. On booking ensure you check on the availability of the larger room if space is your requirement.On request on our last night Ed did move us to one of the bigger rooms which was well apportioned. The ambiance of the guest house was really lovely and the setting for breakfast really exceptional with the view over the sea. A frustrating problem with Southern Cross is how noisy the rooms are, when any of the guests have a shower early in the morning, you awake from the sound of the running water through the plumbing system. Balu, the owners dog who wanted to be let outside early, also woke us up. No rest for the wicked. the main house, which is on the level above the guest house, will wake you up when they are moving around as the floors are wooden and creaky. On a positive side the breakfast is scrumptious and they make the best omelette I ever had.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We spent a night at Southern Cross and wished it could have been longer. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home .Edward ,who is a star,checked us in to our beautiful spacious en-suite bedroom. Thereafter we enjoyed a long walk along Robberg beach just below the guest house , viewing dolphins and a whale close to the shore. Spectacular views from the front patio of the bay and distant Tsitsikamma mountains .We had a fantastic hearty breakfast on the deck with brilliant service the following morning
We will definitely recommend this establishment to others and hope to return again soon. It was my wifes 50th birthday and a chocolate cake was produced with a candle after breakfast with all the staff singing happy birthday .What a brilliant touch .Much appreciated and well done Sue ,our host, on your great establishment. I can only sing praises for Southern Cross .Good luck

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foresthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I selected the hotel based on the photos from the room on the ground level. I could see that it would work best for my wife. The owner confirmed that room for our one night stay and everything lived up to my expectations. My wife was delighted with the accomodations and we felt very much at home instantly when greeted by the owner and escorted to the room by the staff. Slept quietly and soundly on a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was a lovely selection the next morning out on the terrace overlooking the sea. We have shared pictures with our friends and they cant believe where we stayed for the price. Nothing negative.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

If you like the perfect host, breakfast with a view on the beach and clean very nice furnished and well kept rooms, this is the place to be.
The grounds around the house are just lovely. The rooms are maybe not very spacious, but who wants to stay in his room all they long. As the house is almost on the beach the beds felt a bit damp but they got some kind of heating you can switch on that makes that go away. I wouldn't use the heating to sleep, but my girlfriend was a big fan.
There's a nice common area inside as well as outside with a well packed honesty bar.
We stayed here 2 nights and enjoyed every bit. The host is very helpfull if you want to plan some trips.
Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AxelLinsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed at Southern Cross for two nights in April 2012. We booked the big room and it was very pretty. I loved the bathroom with its black and white checkered floor, claw foot bath and big shower. Breakfast was lovely and the view of the beach from the verandah is great. We loved having the two dogs (Toby an Baloo) around. They made us feel at home. There is a wooden walkway to get to the beach and we went for a nice walk although the weather was not great. The guesthouse is in a residential neighbourhood. It is quite tricky to find but luckily we had a GPS to guide us there. It is not near the town center and you have to drive to shops and restaurants. We had a very relaxing 2 days and will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lu-Gerda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews