We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! An amazing experience, we felt so at home, we didn't want to leave!”
Review of Cottage Pie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottage Pie
Ranked #65 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Port Elizabeth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! An amazing experience, we felt so at home, we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 19 January 2010

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cottage Pie. Our room was truly beautiful and elegant, yet so cosy and comfortable in a gorgeous romantic setting. The friendly staff were very helpful and warm, ensuring our stay was a memorable one. Cottage Pie is definitely at the top of our list for our favourite places to stay and we look forward to returning soon! Tanya Slabbert - Port Elizabeth

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    13
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
westport, CT
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Cottage Pie is one of the few guest houses situated very, very close to Robberg Beach. I am sure there are better accommodations at the price in Plett, but I don't think any of them will offer the convenience of this great location. I stayed in #6, one of the two upstairs rooms at a nightly rate of 2100Rand over Christmas week. The room was spacious with a large seating area. The bathroom was of a good size with seperate shower stall and tub. The other upstairs room, #7, is probably similar. The bed was extremely comfortable with excellent quality linens. There was a balcony with table and chairs, but with no views except the parking area. There are some smaller rooms at the back opening directly onto the small garden and tiny pool. I would not have been happy in these - too vulnerable to neighboring rooms and kids playing outside. The downstairs rooms at the front are a better choice. There is a manager on the premises to make sure that all is well. Breakfasts are not sumptuous, but perfectly adequate. They will cook pretty much anything you want. When I arrived at 2:30 pm, the room was not ready and the premises were in the hands of someone filling in for the manager who was on holiday. Directions on their website were useless because of a missing roadsign and obscurred sign to the inn itself. Get a map of Plett before you go to make sure you find the place without the problems I endured. They do not have phones in the rooms or a computer for guest use in the lounge. No turn-down service at night. Bars and gates everywhere for security. At this price, I would exect fewer bars and more human security guards.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wincentiveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2009

A little out of town which meant taxis in th eevening but Cottage Pie was near a lovely beach and the rooms were very good
The Manager went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MawganLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meppen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

The "Cottage Pie" is just as beautiful as the pictures of it. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, the staff is extremely courteous and the breakfast was delicious. Besides being a truly "five star" accomodation their location makes it even better: Situated in a very quiet side road, it takes only about 4 minutes to walk to famous Robberg beach. This is the place that you want to stay at in Plet!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdave23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Delightful hostess in Beth and good staff; Beth generously provided everything we didn't have including belly boards and beach chairs. Cotage Pie is very close to the ocean and the beach and Beth provided great local knowledge and advice.
The rooms were on the small side but clean and bright. The premier rooms on the upper floor were of a high standard.

We enjoyed our stay but would advise that you specify that you do not want the downstairs front bedroom where the shower and toilet that were less than adequate and where my sister-in-law and her husband felt very exposed.
Our room rating and value is lower than it would otherwise have been because of this room

The decor and furnishings at Cottage Pie are clean and bright but somewhat old fashioned and Beth, the manageress, indicated that Cottage Pie should be updated in the near future

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedom2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Very nice rooms, particularly the two suites. Be aware that this B&B is part of a commercial chain, so it lacks the typical personal service you normaly receive at south african B&B. The rooms are very clean and stylish with an excellent quality of beds.

  • Disliked — Staff not motivated
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bsc_wuenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2008

This was a little gem! The room we stayed in was very beautiful, and it was in a great location to the beach A walk over around a bush! seriously! Between it and the sea is one road and some fynbos. As mentioned by the previous person we couldn't see the beach from the room, but there are rooms upstairs with views as I understand it. Breakfast was superb, absolutely everything you could think of - and in true south african style, an abundance of it!

Frik and Nerine were lovely hosts, and couldn't do enough to help - despite the fact that we made a very last minute booking, they were an absolute gem of a find. They even have menus of every restaurant so you can look through them all before deciding where to book. They also book it for you and arrange a taxi for you to get you there and back safely.

The magic of their little place and their attentiveness to details made this a fantastic and very romantic place to stay. We thoroughly enjoyed it there and would highly recommend to anyone to stay in Plet at the Cottage Pie!

Our only disappointment is that upon our return to SA regrettably we will not be staying there as they do not have the facility to accommodate children (well at least not ones as little as 2).

  • Liked — Quality of service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank My_Beautiful_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
708 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bahari Beach House
Bahari Beach House
#33 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Cross Beach House
Southern Cross Beach House
#34 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scallop Lodge
Scallop Lodge
#36 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B
Dolphins' Playground Beachfront ...
#17 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Pie

Property: Cottage Pie
Address: 16 Tarbet Ness Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Pie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for the splendour of its ever-changing sky- and seascapes, and for the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, Plett is a destination of distinction for all visitors to the Garden Route. Just five minutes from the bustling restaurants, galleries, coffee shops and bars of Plett’s Main Street, Cottage Pie is a secluded & tranquil beachside haven. This understated, private 5-star retreat boasts is ideally situated, just 100m from beautiful Robberg Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your Cottage Pie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Pie Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing