We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Cottage Pie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottage Pie
Ranked #69 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Very fortunate to stay at Cottage Pie for a weekend in Feb, two friends & myself! Each had our own rooms, fully equipped except for mine, that could have done with a fan ~ other than that friendly staff, stunning pool area, yummy breaksfast and amazingly comfy beds! Very close to the beach, so an early morning walk is fantastic! Hope to go back soon with the family:)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulovane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2010

Checked into a "luxury room" which appeared to be a converted garage the main window and entrance of which was 2m from the car park. White chipboard furniture, access the shower room through the wardrobe. No aircon, cheap toileteries, bare walls.
Very friendly manageress (Beth) gave us an upgrade to a
much better room after complaining. Breakfast not bad, but not as good as other places we stayed in. If you are happy to pay R1050 pp p night for one of the best rooms (still no air con but good ceiling fan) you will get a nice room in a good location. Very small garden & pool surounded by other properties.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Cottage Pie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2010

Thanks for your review & your compliments about Beth and the great location. Plett is our favourite place on the garden route and Robberg Beach is just a great location. Since we took over Cottage Pie two years ago we've loved the challenge of trying to perfect the look and feel of the place. It still has a very relaxed beach cottage style, and we know not all rooms are to everyone's taste. We're glad we were able to put you in a room that suited you. We're always trying to improve, and I'm currently working on fresh finishing touches in all the rooms. We hope you may be able to return one day and like the results. Best regards to you and your family, and thanks again for the feedback. Kevin & Jules

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cottage Pie. Our room was truly beautiful and elegant, yet so cosy and comfortable in a gorgeous romantic setting. The friendly staff were very helpful and warm, ensuring our stay was a memorable one. Cottage Pie is definitely at the top of our list for our favourite places to stay and we look forward to returning soon! Tanya Slabbert - Port Elizabeth

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Cottage Pie is one of the few guest houses situated very, very close to Robberg Beach. I am sure there are better accommodations at the price in Plett, but I don't think any of them will offer the convenience of this great location. I stayed in #6, one of the two upstairs rooms at a nightly rate of 2100Rand over Christmas week. The room was spacious with a large seating area. The bathroom was of a good size with seperate shower stall and tub. The other upstairs room, #7, is probably similar. The bed was extremely comfortable with excellent quality linens. There was a balcony with table and chairs, but with no views except the parking area. There are some smaller rooms at the back opening directly onto the small garden and tiny pool. I would not have been happy in these - too vulnerable to neighboring rooms and kids playing outside. The downstairs rooms at the front are a better choice. There is a manager on the premises to make sure that all is well. Breakfasts are not sumptuous, but perfectly adequate. They will cook pretty much anything you want. When I arrived at 2:30 pm, the room was not ready and the premises were in the hands of someone filling in for the manager who was on holiday. Directions on their website were useless because of a missing roadsign and obscurred sign to the inn itself. Get a map of Plett before you go to make sure you find the place without the problems I endured. They do not have phones in the rooms or a computer for guest use in the lounge. No turn-down service at night. Bars and gates everywhere for security. At this price, I would exect fewer bars and more human security guards.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wincentiveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

A little out of town which meant taxis in th eevening but Cottage Pie was near a lovely beach and the rooms were very good
The Manager went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MawganLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

The "Cottage Pie" is just as beautiful as the pictures of it. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, the staff is extremely courteous and the breakfast was delicious. Besides being a truly "five star" accomodation their location makes it even better: Situated in a very quiet side road, it takes only about 4 minutes to walk to famous Robberg beach. This is the place that you want to stay at in Plet!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdave23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Delightful hostess in Beth and good staff; Beth generously provided everything we didn't have including belly boards and beach chairs. Cotage Pie is very close to the ocean and the beach and Beth provided great local knowledge and advice.
The rooms were on the small side but clean and bright. The premier rooms on the upper floor were of a high standard.

We enjoyed our stay but would advise that you specify that you do not want the downstairs front bedroom where the shower and toilet that were less than adequate and where my sister-in-law and her husband felt very exposed.
Our room rating and value is lower than it would otherwise have been because of this room

The decor and furnishings at Cottage Pie are clean and bright but somewhat old fashioned and Beth, the manageress, indicated that Cottage Pie should be updated in the near future

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedom2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
5.6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
274 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
5.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
290 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
#1 of 2 in Keurboomstrand
413 reviews
11.8 mi away
Rocky Road Backpackers
Rocky Road Backpackers
#5 of 9 in The Crags
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Pie

Address: 16 Tarbet Ness Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Pie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for the splendour of its ever-changing sky- and seascapes, and for the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, Plett is a destination of distinction for all visitors to the Garden Route. Just five minutes from the bustling restaurants, galleries, coffee shops and bars of Plett’s Main Street, Cottage Pie is a secluded & tranquil beachside haven. This understated, private 5-star retreat boasts is ideally situated, just 100m from beautiful Robberg Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Pie Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing