We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B
Ranked #17 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and great hospitality”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had a short but lovely stay at Dolphin's Playground. The Dolphin Suite was small but perfect for our needs. Pam was a wonderful host and set us up with drinks and snacks on arrival and advised us on the best places to eat. Breakfast was good and we enjoyed the ocean views that come with it!

The house is located just a short walk from the beach and a quick drive from shops and restaurants. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webson2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
87
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I visited Plettenberg bay with my parents. We were greeted by Pam and the offer of coffee was welcome after a long drive. We had the seahorse and dolphin room. All rooms open on to a big deck, which has this gorgeous view of the Indian ocean. I am sure the sunrise and sunsets would be simply splendid but unfortunately for us it was over cast every single day during our 3 day stay. Woke up to a delicious breakfast spread and Pam helped plan our day with suggestions and map. Each evening when we came back she offered us tea/coffee with cookies, which again was welcome. The heated blankets and room heater worked well and was needed as it got cold each evening/night. Pam was very warm to us and even helped us with our luggage. I would defi stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NidhiVaishnavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Dolphin's Playground were selected because of its proximity both to Robberg Nature Reserve (hiking) and Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Center.

I was greeted by Pam the owner when I arrived and showed the room and told about general house rules. Were served a beer and some peanuts as well. Since I was going to get up at 6 am each morning I did not think about a hot breakfast, but I was actually served fruit salad and a full English breakfast at 6:15 am which I thought were great.

Room was comfortable, clean and had direct access to the great balcony. The B & B is a 5 minute walk to the beach. There is also an honesty bar here.

I really enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again if I'm returning to Plettenburg bay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Had a great greeting from Pam the owner - a couple of beers which were very welcome after our long drive from Cape Town. We had the Whale Room - beautiful views. We stayed four nights and unfortunately the weather wasn't very kind to us for a couple of days so we had to have breakfast inside. However, we did manage to eat breakfast on the decking for the last two mornings. Plettenberg Bay is stunning, only a very short walk to the beach and a short drive to the Lookout - we had a couple of delicious meals here. We would not hesitate to stay here again. Thank you Pam for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: Whale Room has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

A big thank you to Pam Mears. We booked the Dolphin room which was lovely, welcome drink, superb breakfast and a super location just off the beach. Plett is truly wonderful wish we could have stayed longer. Had a super meal at the lookout which Pam recommended. Hope to go back again someday.

Room Tip: You must go to Plettenburg and stay with Pam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dido226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed recently for 4 nights in the lovely comfortable Seahorse Room. Breakfasts were beautiful and served by two lovely ladies on the terrace overlooking the ocean-bliss! Pam, the owner, a lovely lady
was a wonderfully warm host and offered good advice re things to do,restaurants etc. She will even make reservations for you.
All in all, we were welcomed into Pam's lovely home and had a thoroughly nice stay. Would definitely recommend. Thank you Pam
Jean & Robert
P.s. Agree with all other positive reviews

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderlustCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Hundreds of dolphins in the bay! And we see them all from the terrace of this nice B&B.
Lovely decorated rooms, good breakfast and a warm service.
We stay two nights in seahorse room and we feel very comfortabel.
Daggi + Uwe, Germany

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Uwe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
709 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
2.0 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#13 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B

Property: Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B
Address: 3 Tillamook Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin's Playground offers you luxury beachfront bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in Plettenberg bay, on the most beautiful beach in the Garden Route. Rooms offer beautiful sea and mountain views and it is a 50 meter walk to Robberg Beach. Close to Knysna and all the tourist attractions. Reward yourself with a fantastic holiday - make your booking in Plettenberg bay today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing