We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Clean & Comfy”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfy.
Conveniently located near all amenities on the Main rd.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

we had a wonderful stay at the bayview hotel in plettendberg bay.
The hotel is newly renovated ( in 2011) and has a wonderful atmosphere. The location is excellent, near the shops and on top of a quaint shopping center with lovely shops.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avril S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Large clean rooms. No frills, but ok. Excellent location. TV. No WIFI.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C_C21755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The hotel is conveniently located in the main rd. I found the staff very friendly, willing to help and well informed about the area.

I got a groupon deal, which allowed me to stay at half price. At this price, I felt like I got good value for my money.

A single criticism would be the noise of main rd, although this is beyond the Control of the hotel.

If you are looking for the buzz and excitement of plett at night, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmarie378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The rooms have hospital respectively youth hostel flair. It's clean but very cheaply equited. Would be okay for half the price and adequate service. The price is very high. More than 1000 rands per night. The service is poor. The staff was uninterested. At first the gave us an uncleaned room. We got a new one (no apology but) although they told us before that there was only one room left, yet.

The mattresses where bad, the street loud. We just stayed because it was already night and everything else was sold out. We left as early as possible.

Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apeglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

The sign at the reception desk said 'Ring Bell For Service'. There was no bell. An omen?
The hotel, actually, isnt that bad, its just not that good. If you're looking for Travelodge standard, it'll do. But it wasn't very clean - unswept floors in the breakfast room, dirty woodwork on the balcony. The tea making facilities had no milk, just powdered gunk. No fridge. Old TV, no remote.
Beds and bathroom comfortable enough, location ok, maybe 15 minutes stroll to the beach and right in town for shops.
But overall it just felt a bit tacky. The staff were polite but indifferent. No outside seating area except the (not very clean) bar patio. Bar usually closed anyway.
Breakfast was an open buffet much visited by the local birds so if you don't mind sharing your cheese with the feathered friends, you'll be ok. Rolls/bread sometimes turned up, sometimes didn't. At best, very mediocre.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

The bayview hotel has an execellent location on Plettenbergs main road. Althought the main road causes noise, it gets pretty quiet at night and we only noticed it in the morning. Get on of the rooms with only a partial window view, this limits the noise. The views however are spectacular, the rooms are basic but very clean and its a very short walk to restaurants and bars. Most of all we appreciated the when checking out after spending 3 night here, the reception informed us of a "stay 3 nights, pay 2 nights" special that month.

A trade-off between the streety noisy and the view, location, cleaniness and pro-active staff makes this hotel a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tactix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
3.1 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
91 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
392 reviews
18.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: Cnr. Main & Gibb Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £41 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayview Hotel is privately owned and managed by an efficient and friendly team. It is situated in the heart of the village and is a mere stroll to the beach. One can enjoy Continental and Full English Breakfasts, or a sun downer overlooking the splendour of the Keurbooms River and the Robberg Peninsula.The Bayview boasts 38 en-suite rooms with breathtaking views of the magnificent coastline. The Bayview is well known for its convenient business and conference facilities, and it is equipped with all the necessary amenities needed to ensure the success of your function. For your convenience, the Bayview is open 24 hours per day and offers private parking facilities. Our team will be able to assist you with recommendations on activities you may wish to partake in i.e. tailor - made diving excursions, fishing, hiking, sailing, bird watching, bungi jumping, whale and dolphin watching, all in close proximity to the Bayview. Banking facilities, boutiques, art galleries and shopping malls are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing