We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, great location and good value”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This is a basic, clean, no frills hotel in a great location and very good value for what you pay. There are many B & Bs in town that charge twice what the Bayview do - yes you do not get fancy soaps in the bathroom or a decanter of sherry in your room - but if you want a basic, v clean, safe/secure hotel room (that you will probably sleep in and spend no more time there than that) then you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sappers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed over with my family at the penthouse for three days and what an amazing view, friendly staff, and a basic but satisfying breakfast. The view of the ocean from the room was awesome! The staff were helpful, friendly and the rooms were cleaned daily and towels replaced. The staff were helpful in providing us with any needed information or supplies. What a great place to bring a family or have a party on the terrace! The dining area downstairs in the restaurant has a great view and is immaculate. The outdoor terrace on the dining floor provides a great view of downtown Plett.

Room Tip: If you want to have a great family experience then get the penthouse and be ready to BBQ!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I only stayed here one night as I was headed back to Cape Town. This hotel has really nice staff and the manager Amanda couldn't have gone out of her way MORE to make me feel at home. Being there in winter, it was very quiet. the location is right on the main street and Amanda recommended a great restaurant for me to go to that night. She even allowed me to tour the penthouse suite and I stayed up there all morning taking photos. If you are looking for a clean hotel,walking distance to the shops, personable staff, then stay here. Please hug Amanda for me, too. She's awesome.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank StevenBFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Not having been to Plett for 30 years and not knowing what to expect, I chose to spend the last two days of our 5 day Plett holiday at this hotel in the main road of the town.
We were not unhappy there and essentially it was good value and it wouldnt be fair to compare it to where we stayed the 1st three days.
On its own merits the hotel is well positioned in the village/town - but if you are in Plett, aside from some restaurants - you arent really going to want to be in the town.
There are partial sea views from some rooms - so in this sense the website is a little misleading. Dont expect a sea view and you wont be disappointed.
The rooms are large and comfortable - as for sattelite tv. Forget that - one MNet channel was all they offered so if you have kids and expect more - check first.
The staff are friendly and we were comfortable but wouldnt pay a premium for the hotel if we were to consider returning.

Room Tip: Dont expect full sea view rooms, and some rooms will look directly into/onto other buildings in town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I recently spent a 4-day weekend in Plett and Knysna and based myself at the Bayview in Plett.

The rooms were very nice, clean and serviced daily with fresh towels. The staff were very friendly and full of local knowledge - restaurants, activities etc...also generous with discount vouchers for local activities and some reatuarants.

The daily breakfast was good value and the eggs were the best i had in Plett and Knysna.

I look forward to my next stay at the Bayview.

Room Tip: Room 306 is quiet and spacious with a great cool breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Bayview Hotel is right in the heart of Plettenberg Bay, within walking distance of the restaurants, bars and beach. It is the ideal spot to base yourself for either a short stay or a family summer holiday. Rooms are spacious and clean and staff are very helpful!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Close to all the shops and eateries so you don't have to walk too far for anything, but also has a nice view of the sea. Near enough to go for a run on the beach. Tidy with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.1 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
583 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
383 reviews
10.2 mi away
Kurland Hotel
Kurland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: Cnr. Main & Gibb Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £47 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayview Hotel is privately owned and managed by an efficient and friendly team. It is situated in the heart of the village and is a mere stroll to the beach. One can enjoy Continental and Full English Breakfasts, or a sun downer overlooking the splendour of the Keurbooms River and the Robberg Peninsula.The Bayview boasts 38 en-suite rooms with breathtaking views of the magnificent coastline. The Bayview is well known for its convenient business and conference facilities, and it is equipped with all the necessary amenities needed to ensure the success of your function. For your convenience, the Bayview is open 24 hours per day and offers private parking facilities. Our team will be able to assist you with recommendations on activities you may wish to partake in i.e. tailor - made diving excursions, fishing, hiking, sailing, bird watching, bungi jumping, whale and dolphin watching, all in close proximity to the Bayview. Banking facilities, boutiques, art galleries and shopping malls are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing