We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Ocean View”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Location, Ocean View”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Good location close to restaurants, boutiques, groceries, short drive to Robberg Reserve. Our room was large, good plumbing, electric. Linens, furniture, carpets in decent condition. Basic toiletries & instant coffee provided. Balcony was a bonus. Very pleasant & helpful desk staff. Good value for average to good quality accommodation. Air conditioner did not work but the 2nd night they set up a portable on request.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    40
    30
    9
    11
See reviews for
16
50
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We had a room on the second floor, the rooms air conditoning didn't seem to be fully efficient and made the room unbearably hot, the bed was a double and totally uncomfortable, I had the worst sleep ever, Breakfast the next morning was served in the dining room, my partner opted for a full English breakfast, however on closer examination of the sausages it was found that they were totally raw inside, we pointed this out to the waitress, On leaving we were not charged for our breakfasts, which we appreciated. I also had the misfortune to leave my brand new i phone 5 on the sofa in reception, I was unaware that of this and when I returned back to the hotel that evening the male receptionist returned my phone, I truly appreaciated the honesty of all concerned...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifitrixibelle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Hotel was perfectly situated,close to everything.Staff was always friendly and helpfull.I will definitely recommend it.Rooms are nice and big.Certain things need to be updated like the restrooms in the lobby and the tv in the rooms

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larencha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

From the moment you do the reservation until you depart after your stay, you feel that special treatment. Very friendly staff that welcomed us on arrival.Our room had a view on to the lookout beach and so we were pretty pleased.The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. Safe parking and tranquil location. The restaurant was used for breakfast only and we had full buffet breakfast. The eggs were cooked to perfection as we ordered them. The front desk staff were very helpful . Centrally located with various restaurants near by . The location is the best thing about this hotel. Im planning to do so many more times in the future. It is an experience you could never have in America or Europe.

Room Tip: book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnb000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Unfriendly, uninterested and unprofessional staff. 1 or 2 star run down rooms. We arrived an hour after check-in and our room was open and unlocked and still not cleaned. Staff was uninterested in helping us and said we should try coming back later. After asking if the cleaning of our room could be prioritised, manager on duty reluctantly instructed the cleaners with no apology or friendliness. We finally were able to book in 2 hours later just to find that the carpet was uncleaned and dirty. After numerous requests to vacuum the room this was reluctantly done after half an hour with no apology. Chair in room broken. Balcony ballister broken. Furniture run down especially bathroom. Old tv without remote. Only one channel works. Corridor and main hotel area rundown and straight out of the 80's. Very noisy as on main road and close to night clubs. At night people next door started braaiing on the balcony and when complaining to reception about smoke an smell in our room, was told it is not aloud in hotel but people do it sometimes and he doesn't really want to complain to them unless they are noisy. It was a very strange experience for a hotel. All this at a R1,300 per night. We stayed at two other 4 star establishments for less. Recommendation: fire front of house staff and halve rates or renovate hotel as this was a ridiculous experience at this price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenL333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plettenberg Bay hotels

Riga, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This is a basic, clean, no frills hotel in a great location and very good value for what you pay. There are many B & Bs in town that charge twice what the Bayview do - yes you do not get fancy soaps in the bathroom or a decanter of sherry in your room - but if you want a basic, v clean, safe/secure hotel room (that you will probably sleep in and spend no more time there than that) then you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sappers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed over with my family at the penthouse for three days and what an amazing view, friendly staff, and a basic but satisfying breakfast. The view of the ocean from the room was awesome! The staff were helpful, friendly and the rooms were cleaned daily and towels replaced. The staff were helpful in providing us with any needed information or supplies. What a great place to bring a family or have a party on the terrace! The dining area downstairs in the restaurant has a great view and is immaculate. The outdoor terrace on the dining floor provides a great view of downtown Plett.

Room Tip: If you want to have a great family experience then get the penthouse and be ready to BBQ!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
3.1 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Property: Bayview Hotel
Address: Cnr. Main & Gibb Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayview Hotel is privately owned and managed by an efficient and friendly team. It is situated in the heart of the village and is a mere stroll to the beach. One can enjoy Continental and Full English Breakfasts, or a sun downer overlooking the splendour of the Keurbooms River and the Robberg Peninsula.The Bayview boasts 38 en-suite rooms with breathtaking views of the magnificent coastline. The Bayview is well known for its convenient business and conference facilities, and it is equipped with all the necessary amenities needed to ensure the success of your function. For your convenience, the Bayview is open 24 hours per day and offers private parking facilities. Our team will be able to assist you with recommendations on activities you may wish to partake in i.e. tailor - made diving excursions, fishing, hiking, sailing, bird watching, bungi jumping, whale and dolphin watching, all in close proximity to the Bayview. Banking facilities, boutiques, art galleries and shopping malls are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing