We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, view & price”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, view & price”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

An affordable hotel, especially when compared to the pricey guesthouses nearby. Room had a great view of the ocean and beach. Great location, just a walk away from an array of restaurants and bars. A standard room, nothing fancy, but good enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrisDaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    39
    30
    9
    11
See reviews for
16
50
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
304 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This is a very affordable 3 star hotel.

It can be quite difficult to find good value accommodation in Plettenberg Bay, but I paid just R500 pn for a double room (2 persons).

Breakfast is extra but at least they have free internet.

The location is good too, being right on the high street.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have often seen this hotel and thought it must be a great hotel to stay in. The location is superb - it is right in the middle of town where everything happens.. close to restaurants and shops and you can walk to the beach from here.... but it is a steep walk. We had a room with a sea view, which is always nice and there was tea and coffee in the room. The room was very spacious and more than adequate. The bathroom was a little dated but perfectly fine - it had a bath and no shower but did have the option to 'shower' in the bath.The room was very clean and the linen was fine. The TV in the room was working but we could not get reception for any of the channels available which were really not many any way. You need to use the same plug near to the floor for the TV and the kettle which is not convenient at all. we did not opt for the breakfast which we always fond expensive at the hotels and there are several restaurants and cafes that are open for breakfast very near to the hotel and I would reccomend that option - you also get to try different places with different atmospheres... The staff at the hotel were exceptionally friendly and helpful! They certainly boosted this rating. The hotel has huge potential but it is drab. No pictures on the walls and very simplistic which almost makes you feel that the 3 star rating is bordering too much. Bear in mind that it is on the main street in the town so you will hear traffic passing all night but if you are happy to accept the hotel as it is then it is really more than adequate if you just need a room to stay and not a resort as a holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are probably much more noisy than the others so you might sleep a little less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Good location close to restaurants, boutiques, groceries, short drive to Robberg Reserve. Our room was large, good plumbing, electric. Linens, furniture, carpets in decent condition. Basic toiletries & instant coffee provided. Balcony was a bonus. Very pleasant & helpful desk staff. Good value for average to good quality accommodation. Air conditioner did not work but the 2nd night they set up a portable on request.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We had a room on the second floor, the rooms air conditoning didn't seem to be fully efficient and made the room unbearably hot, the bed was a double and totally uncomfortable, I had the worst sleep ever, Breakfast the next morning was served in the dining room, my partner opted for a full English breakfast, however on closer examination of the sausages it was found that they were totally raw inside, we pointed this out to the waitress, On leaving we were not charged for our breakfasts, which we appreciated. I also had the misfortune to leave my brand new i phone 5 on the sofa in reception, I was unaware that of this and when I returned back to the hotel that evening the male receptionist returned my phone, I truly appreaciated the honesty of all concerned...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifitrixibelle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Hotel was perfectly situated,close to everything.Staff was always friendly and helpfull.I will definitely recommend it.Rooms are nice and big.Certain things need to be updated like the restrooms in the lobby and the tv in the rooms

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larencha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

From the moment you do the reservation until you depart after your stay, you feel that special treatment. Very friendly staff that welcomed us on arrival.Our room had a view on to the lookout beach and so we were pretty pleased.The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. Safe parking and tranquil location. The restaurant was used for breakfast only and we had full buffet breakfast. The eggs were cooked to perfection as we ordered them. The front desk staff were very helpful . Centrally located with various restaurants near by . The location is the best thing about this hotel. Im planning to do so many more times in the future. It is an experience you could never have in America or Europe.

Room Tip: book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnb000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
709 reviews
3.1 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
5.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Property: Bayview Hotel
Address: Cnr. Main & Gibb Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayview Hotel is privately owned and managed by an efficient and friendly team. It is situated in the heart of the village and is a mere stroll to the beach. One can enjoy Continental and Full English Breakfasts, or a sun downer overlooking the splendour of the Keurbooms River and the Robberg Peninsula.The Bayview boasts 38 en-suite rooms with breathtaking views of the magnificent coastline. The Bayview is well known for its convenient business and conference facilities, and it is equipped with all the necessary amenities needed to ensure the success of your function. For your convenience, the Bayview is open 24 hours per day and offers private parking facilities. Our team will be able to assist you with recommendations on activities you may wish to partake in i.e. tailor - made diving excursions, fishing, hiking, sailing, bird watching, bungi jumping, whale and dolphin watching, all in close proximity to the Bayview. Banking facilities, boutiques, art galleries and shopping malls are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing