We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coastal beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emily Moon River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Coastal beauty”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Emily Moon River Lodge sits in a lovely spot, some way out of the town, and the accommodation is great with views out over the river. We ate in the restaurant the first night and it is clear that it is a favoured eating place, with lots of local people celebrating family events etc. The food was good. Simon and Di were attentive hosts and had a number of helpful suggestions for ways of spending our time and places to eat.

We could not really understand why people like Plettenberg Bay itself. It is a modern seaside resort with a monstrous apartment block built right in the middle of the beach. The town has some of the most expensive houses in South Africa and we were not sure whether the shops were priced for their wealthy occupants or for tourists – but, from our brief visit, there was some classy stuff in the shops. Luckily it is surrounded by lovely places. We enjoyed a walk round the Robberg Peninsula (including the amazing cave at Nelson’s Bay where you can see 3000 years of history in all its layers). We had a great view of a hammerhead shark swimming below us. Sadly swimming was not possible for us as there was a Red Tide while we were there.

Simon, having discovered that we were interested in birds, arranged a trip for us with a local bird expert, Gareth Robbins (http://goldenorbtours.co.za), who took us out for five hours, looking at the birds in various habitats from forest to open farmland. This was one of the highlights of the whole trip and the knowledge that he shared with us set us up for further sightings later on. One of the best mornings of our trip to South Africa. In the afternoon we took one of the kayaks out on the river and added to our score of birds as well as having a very enjoyable paddle.

We had dinner in the highly recommended ‘Fat Fish’ (posh fish and chips, not expensive) and also at Enrico’s at Kerbooms Strand, which we enjoyed greatly, sitting on the veranda with the sunset and then the start of a massive (but distant) thunderstorm that lit up the sky for several hours.

We spent three nights at Emily Moon River Lodge and enjoyed ourselves with very helpful and attentive hosts and staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    66
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
76
281
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at Emily Moon for 2 nights. What a great place!
We felt very welcome, staff were fantastic, rooms were great, wouldn't change a thing! We ate at Emily Moon on the first night, and it was great to eat whilst enjoying the view. Nothing was too much trouble! The fillet steak was amazing!
On our second day we took their canoe's out along the river for a couple of hours, a free activity they offered that I'd have happily paid for. There were a couple of swimming pools, but we didn't use them. We ate in Plettenburg Bay the night.
We would def stay at Emily Moon again!

Room Tip: Take the canoes out - It's fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGL262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed 3 nts and enjoyed the spacious and niceley decorated rooms with a wonderful view - a peaceful surrounding.
The restaurant however is overcrowded with non-hotel-guests so that it gets very noisy and hectic; the service personnel is partially overloaded.
Worst experience: the laundry spoilt one of my favourite pieces and I only got a discount on the laundry bill.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Elsbeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Haven eaten at Emily Moon 2 years ago and thought it was lovely we decided to go one better and stay this time and we were not disappointed. We were in room6 with a wonderful view over the wetlands. Very well appointed villa type rooms.

Dinner in the evening was as good as we remembered and breakfast in the morning first class.

We will be back.

Audrey B (Scotland)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Obviously a popular place the Emily Moon lodge and restaurant is just outside of Plettenberg Bay. This is an excellent place to stay in The Garden Route area.

The restaurant choice and food were excellent, and we choose to eat here for nights 2 & 3 as well. The service was very good and all the staff were very friendly. We enjoyed our chats with Joe.

We stayed at 7 hotels during our 3 week trip and our room at Emily Moon was by far the best.

Can't fault it.

Stephen & Sara Read

Room Tip: I think they are probably all good, with lovely views over the river flood plain below
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

From the moment we entered the property, something just felt right! Warm and relaxed, chilled out music and a great atmosphere - the rooms were lovely, spacious and all slightly individual and great views. Very convivial hosts with lots of great local knowledge and advice of places to go. Great breakfast and a fabulous restaurant for dinner!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningLadyCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A very popular restaurant just outside Plettenberg Bay in a beautiful setting.

There is an extensive outside area for pre dinner drinks and the restaurant itself is cosy and interesting. They reserve the best tables for guests staying on the property.

The Springbok carpaccio and grilled kingklip were excellent and the wine list extensive.

The service was rather patchy and they mixed up our reservation despite having confirmed that morning.

Worth a visit if you are spending a few days in Plett.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hesiod58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
6.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
6.7 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily Moon River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily Moon River Lodge

Property: Emily Moon River Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 1936 | Rietvlei Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Emily Moon River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa. Embracing the southern bank of the Bitou River in Plettenberg Bay, Emily Moon River Lodge is a small, exclusive lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Emily Moon River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Moon River Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing