We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emily Moon River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Emily Moon was recommended to us, and it exceeded our hopes and expectations.
Diane and Simon were the most charming hosts, full of local knowledge and advice which we were able to successfully utilise.
The "room" we had was in fact a "suite" with total privacy, the highlight of which would have been the fantastic outdoor shower offering wonderful views over the valley, if the weather had allowed us to use it!!
The restaurant was fully booked on both evenings we were there, & it was not difficult to see why as both food and staff were delightful.
If you should go canoeing in the river by the Lodge, make sure you go with someone who knows what they are doing!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Emily Moon River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2009

This hotel was wonderful. We arrived just as the drought ended and the hurricane hit, 30 hours of horizontal rain, felt as if we had never left Scotland. The villas were outstanding, clean, comfortable and if you are going to be holed up in a storm there is no where better.. The first night the children "camped" out in our room and we still had plenty of space.
The second morning it was sunny, sunny. sunny. Simon, the owner's father and manager, was on hand to give every guest individual attention and helped everyone plan their perfect day out. He told us to be at certain beach at 4.30pm to watch the whales playing in the surf. We were ther at the exact time and saw 7 whales., now that is great local knowledge.
The food, was outsatnding and the staff were friendly and very attentive. A nice thought is that the restuarant is very popular with the local community and every night it is fully booked with a waithing list. As a matter of course every guest is booked in for dinner when the initial booking is made.
Our travel agent said this was her favourite hotel to visit and as a family we could not fault it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yb349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Wow what a location. Fabulous views, amazing accommodation - never before such a view from a bath!! Simon & Di were very welcoming with lots of great advice on making the most of Plett. A great location with so much to do - very much recommend the Tenikwe Cheetah Sanctuary. Emily Moon is a hidden gem - an amazing restaurant with great fresh local ingredients. A superb lodge. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LionaAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Emily Moon has fabulous ambiance...Room is large and very comfortable.
Pool area is intimate and charming. Simon & Diane are extremely helpful & friendly.
We had a lovely stay & would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The views were breath-taking - majestic hills, meandering river and lush greenery. Everyone was friendly and eager to help you enjoy your vacation - you feel as if you were staying in a friend's abode. The ambience was cosy and relaxing. The food could only be summed up in one word - SUMPTUOUS! The room was tastefully done up and must have the best view from the bathroom amongst all hotels! The balcony was a great spot to simply gaze at the picturesque views and just relax. Simply chill out by the pool and you will be thoroughly rejuvenated in this very comfy lodge. I shall return!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank patngiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

My husband and I had a magic weekend at Emily Moon. The view and birdlife are fantastic. The service, friendly staff and wonderful FOOD make it a home away from home. We would definately return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnelieDirker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We just returned from a three night stay at the EMRL! It was simply superb. The rooms are 5 star and so is everything else. OK, so there is no 24 hours roomservice or laundry, but he, you are on vacation...... at the same time the owners and staff are flexible enough to serve you anything any time any where!!! The food is simple but extremely well cooked and absolutely delicious. This goes for breakfast and dinner! The setting of the lodge and the views that go with it are obvioulsy stunning. It is the simple but excellent delivery of service and the "homey" feel one gets which is making this lodge so special. The rooms are stunning, all with its own decor nand extremely comfortable. Views come in for free. "A must stay place" in this part of the world... you will not regret....
(vodka martini's, forzen margarita's are excellent!!).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelguyDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
553 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
546 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
374 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
743 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily Moon River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily Moon River Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 1936 | Rietvlei Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £104 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emily Moon River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa. Embracing the southern bank of the Bitou River in Plettenberg Bay, Emily Moon River Lodge is a small, exclusive lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Emily Moon River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Moon River Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing