We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Really nice hostel with excellent service. Rooms are clean and very correct. Best option. Exceed expectations as hostel. Rooms with ensuite are worth. Location is also good and has a parking area inside

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Nothando team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

This place is definitely worth the penny spent. Good hotel type rooms, but outside of it, warmth of a hostel. They have a great collection of DVD's, books and a cozy room to enjoy them. The kitchen is well equipped and clean. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Location is quite near to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ag_Apurva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We enjoy running Nothando and try to always give our best to our travellers.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stayed in an ensuite room with my girl friend. I appreciated the place more the longer I stayed. For example, I think it is one of the few palces that provided electric sockets that permit just about any type of plug. There was a kerosene lamp which added a nice touch. Small little brown bags to stash stuff away. Clean and neat and tidy. It's not gorgous or charactersitc but comfortable and very reasonably priced by Plett bay standards. Plus I prefer the location near Main street rather than by the bay and the water - more locals and livelier.

Room Tip: The Table restaurant was one of my favorites during my two week stay in SA. Not to miss. Try the ost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you so muchfor your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers Lodge. We really appreciate it.

Please come and visit us again.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights after travelling from Cape Town and having two nights in the Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve. This was a perfect place to stay in Plett as it is very central and you can easily walk to the restaurants on Main Road, plus a slightly longer walk down to the beach. Be warned - the walk back from the beaches are uphill all the way and can be quite challenging after a couple of glasses of wine!
The rooms are very clean and the staff were very helpful as they can arrange an array of things for you to do whilst staying in Plett - anything from visiting an elephant sanctuary to skydiving or scuba-diving. Plett is certainly a place for doing activities like them.
If you want somewhere exciting in the evening though, forget about it. Plett is very, very quiet and the restaurants generally close down at around 10pm. So a party town it is not.
However, Nothando is excellent and a great, cheap place to stay - don't bother with any of the fancy places in Plett, just go here.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked of good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate it. We always try our best to give our travellers only the best.
The Nothando team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Nothando backpackers exceeded our expectations. We were greeted with huge smiles and open arms from the moment we entered. We stayed in a double rooms which was clean and well decked out (it even had its own clothes line!). Would recommend and stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. We enjoy our guests and always try to our best to make your stay unforgettable.
The Nothando team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We really didn't have the feeling that we were staying in a backpackers. It felt more like a hotel with the level of service and attention to detail. There is something special for everyone at Nothando. The staff are very knowledgeable about the area and give great advise as to plan a day of fun. Sarah is very entertaining. It was truly a home form home experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. Please come and visit us again, Sarah and all of us are looking forward to your next visit.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Good location, one block from the main street, walking distance or a short drive to the beach. Our room was right on the parking lot so could be noisy in the morning. The car parking was very secure with an access code and, although it was busy and they sometimes had to juggle things a bit, we always got a space. Impeccable room which was made up every day, there were also nice touches like toiletries in the bathroom, a hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities – basically a hotel room in a hostel environment. For info neither breakfast or wifi are included. The staff were present, helpful, very professional and service orientated. There are currently no braai facilities (although I understand that may change shortly) but there is a well equipped communal kitchen and a convivial bar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stinaandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of Nothando. We are a bit puzzled about the braai facilities. We actually have 1 indoor and 1 outdoor braai facility. Please come and visit us again.
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
1.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
817 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#13 of 78 in Plettenberg Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#11 of 78 in Plettenberg Bay
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
#26 of 78 in Plettenberg Bay
210 reviews
18.3 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nothando Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Address: 5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £10 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nothando Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Nothando Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing