We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home ! Best place to chill out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Prices are very reasonable and there hasn't been a single problem with our rooms or any other thing during our 3 days stay.
But the thing about this place is the homey feeling you get there. Staff is very nice and professionnal. The central courtyard and the lodge are welcomy and perfect for chilling out in the evening. Drinks are quite cheap and it's been a pleasure chatting with the general manager, Elvis. He's a neat guy and does a wonderful job making people feel at ease, like at home. It's been nice meeting you, mate.
By far the best backpackers I've experienced in this country

And I also love their dog.

Kind regards

David Martin-Calle


Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Toutata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear David

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Nothando. We enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards
Elvis
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

This backpackers is by far one of the top ones I've been to, I believe it's rated 5 stars by the tourism board and It most certainly delivers on it's expectations! From the chilled vibe to the good food. Everything about this place was great. It's also close to the Main Street where you will find tons of shops and restaurants. Elvis who was in charge at night sorted out our every need and the rest of the staff we met were nice.

We stayed in a dorm room which had an en-suite bathroom and parked our vehicle inside the premises. Everything about the place is very clean and well kept. Highly recommend!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, General Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Warren,

Thank you so much for your wonderful report on our establishment: Nothando Backpackers Lodge. We take great pleasure in running our Lodge and happy, content guests make us very happy.

We hope to see you again at Nothando.

Kind regard
Elvis
(General manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The stay at Nothando Backpackers in Plett was really great. Its just a 3 min walk to the Main Road with a lot of restaurants and Shops. We even Walked to the beach (down the hill, 10min). The Double ensuite room was really good, clean and safe. Parking the Car is on Site. We liked it that much we decided to extend the stay. The staff is doing a great job! Thanks to Elvis for the nice talkings at the Bar in the evening!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Nothando, and hope to see you again.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Kindest regards
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Spent 2 nights here & really enjoyed the stay.
Really warm welcome from Elvis even though we didn't arrive till 22.00. The room was spotlessly clean with lovely soft towels provided.
We were given a map of the area , details of the free wifi & directions to the places we were visiting the following day.
The way the property is split between dorms & private rooms made it quiet & the parking was safe.
The availability of breakfast & evening meals at an extra cost are helpful although we were out & about & didn't try them.
The chance to hire beach towels in a bag with a fully refunded fee on returning them was another good feature
Loved Nothandos & Plettenburg Bay area , hope I get the chance to come back one day

Room Tip: Dorms seem vibrant & full of life for a quieter stay book a private room all are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babooshkaphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Good morning. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers Lodge. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate that you took the time to write a review.

Please come and visit us again.

Kindest regards
The Nothando Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Rather small, quiet and very clean backpacker with family atmosphere.
Its perfectly clean (just as at home),free white towel on every bed,other towel in ensuite restroom and in extra sink.All are changed daily. No mosquitos, light fresh wind in the evening keeps the room airy. Restrooms are a pleasure,carpet on the floor (no dirty feet).Very quiet at night, but just 5 min walk to Main Rd. Kitchen in good condition and also very clean. Nice garden to sit and have your meal.All in all good facilities
Very good value

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkjhh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review of Nothando Backpackers. It is great to get feedback from our guests.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Nothando, and hope that you will come and stay with us again.

Thank you
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Nothando aims to provide topnotch accommodation at a very reasonable price. Combine this with their excellent service and warmth, it truly creates a home-away-from-home feeling.

After a long days journey we welcomed the site of a spacious room that was squeaky clean. As it was our first time in Plett, no question was left unasked and unanswered by the knowledgeable staff.

We stayed for a total of 3 days and I will gladly return to Nothando.
It is located about 10-15min walk from the beach - be wary it is quite steep on the way back after a few beers- but this did not trouble us in any way. It is very close to the main street with multiple restaurants and bars, which made going out at night a breeze as we also walked and didn't have to risk the roads after a few beers.

If you are looking for a great time, homey feeling at an excellent price, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Request a room with a proper fan as it can get very hot during summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacques D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Jacques

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Nothando. It was a pleasure having you as guests and we hope that you will come and stay with us again.

We also want to wish you a wonderful 2014.

Many thanks
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Amazing room, extremely friendly staff, meals ready to order, and bar. The best part though is the staff. Nothando means love in Xhosa and,boy, do they show it. Staff members Elvis and Sweetness are the greatest. If you are looking to have fun, make friends, and get a good night sleep, this is the place to be. Recommending it to all my friends :)

Room Tip: The dorms where really nice, and you can also get a private room for a little bit more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Benjamin
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Nothando is a home to all our travellers and the staff are fantastic. Sweetness and Elvis are delighted to be mentioned. They are stars.

Please come and visit us again.

Kindest regards
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
565 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
764 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#5 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
123 reviews
6.4 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
361 reviews
2.3 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#10 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nothando Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Address: 5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £9 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nothando Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Nothando Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing