We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you, Ibhayi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibhayi Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibhayi Town Lodge
Ranked #32 of 224 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thank you, Ibhayi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I am writing this review on behalf of Port Elizabeth Down Syndrome Association. We had had several events at Ibhayi Guest Lodge since September 2011, from workshops for co-ordinators and parents, to the launch of a support group for teenagers, to a get-together for them, to a braai for our teens and their parents. The staff excelled at each and every one of these events, bending backwards to meet our demands, which not always have been that easy! Keep it up and we are looking forward to our next function, the formal sit down dinner just before Christmas. See you in the new year for even more! Wilna Gates - Administrator

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    51
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
27
40
6
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Ibhayi is a lovely place to stay while visiting PE. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, making ones stay very comfortable. One feels part of the family.
If I need anything, they are more than happy to help out and assist where necessary.
The rooms are lovely and spacious. Very clean! Especially the linen. Massive beds!
I can highly recommend any Ibhayi to any traveller :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I utilise Ibhayi Guest Lodge on a monthly basis. I use their conference facilities, their restaurant and their accomodation. I want to recommend the venue to anyone wanting to be treated like gold and to experience personal service of a high level. Each and every staff member has a smiley face and they are so eager to help with any request you have, no matter what it is. They stay calm in all situations and always deliver no matter what is needed. Their establishment is clean and their food is amazing. I recommend them highly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KKELLY67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed one night at Ibhayi since I was using the venue for a seminar presentation. The room was comfortable and clean, the surroundings and gardens beautifully cared for and the venue brilliantly managed. The staff, on all levels, were extremely friendly, efficient, helpful and I can therefore recommend Ibhayi with confidence.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room not close to the road, because the traffic is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marynab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
183 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Room looked pretty but after our stay we discovered that the floor was actually dirty regarding the condition of our slippers !
After a more sever check we saw that in the bathroom corners a lot of dirt was accumulated.
This issue we considered as a major lack of cleanliness in this hotel.
On the other hand the bed was clean but firm (!), the airco worked very well and the diner was OK, as well as the service.
Breakfast was a good experience.
OK for a one night transfer stay but shall not book here for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eMBieAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed here on two separate occasions during our recent trip to South Africa. Compared to the other places that we stayed - it was very average in every way. Staff were friendly but did not follow up on requests - example the safe in our room was locked on arrival and we were told someone would come and unlock it - this did not happen even though we requested this twice. There was also no hair dryer in the room and on request for one was asked if I had checked properly! They did come and check and found none and brought one. They had lots of rain and everything was water logged - while this was not their fault the path ways between the buildings meant that we had to walk through water and this was not pleasant. Also there are no rails at the steps and they are big steps. The breakfast was very poor the one day and things were whipped out from under our noises before we had even finished eating. On the plus the rooms had good heating and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

The ambiance was outstanding the staff great and helpful, I enjoyed my stay immensely.

Thanks

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OTTOCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.8 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mongoose Manor
Mongoose Manor
#25 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
5.2 mi away
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
#1 of 6 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Flame Guest House
Cape Flame Guest House
#20 of 224 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibhayi Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibhayi Town Lodge

Property: Ibhayi Town Lodge
Address: Cnr Main Rd & 9th Avenue | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa (Formerly Ibhayi Guest Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibhayi Town Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibhayi Town Lodge is Port Elizabeth’s answer to a friendly home away from home for business travelers and holiday makers alike. This four-star town lodge has twenty large comfortable rooms and four spacious family suites. All rooms have a full en-suite bathroom and a convenient kitchenette nook with fridge, tea/coffee station, and basic appliances. Breakfasts are served in the dining room or the pool deck. We'll happily prepare a light snack or dinner on request. The new business centre and Leo's Bistro restaurant can cater for conferences up to 50 people seated as well as functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ibhayi Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing