We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel stay ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibhayi Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibhayi Town Lodge
Ranked #35 of 225 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
East London, South Africa
1 review
“Best Hotel stay ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

wow i have the best time of my life staying at one of your Hotels. i believe soon enough i will come back not only for business this time but for pleasure. i must again thank your house keeping staff for keeping my room clean while i was there and also your kitchen staff their menu was the best up to standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Buntu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Ibhayi Town Lodge, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Wow what a great review - thank you for staying with us and for taking the trouble to post a review. We appreciate it. Hope you do come back for a holiday next time, and can enjoy some more time relaxing in PE! All the best from the Ibhayi Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    52
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
27
41
6
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Your tea lady, can't remember her name, but she was just superb, nothing was too much trouble, she really needs recognition
The rooms were very spacious as well as the bathrooms.
Their was a lovely selection of breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Ibhayi Town Lodge, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hi Cheryl - Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review - these mean a lot to us and are really helpful for other travellers, so we appreciate your help. We have two conference assistants, Eunice and Khanye, who together give that hands-on help with conferences that makes all the difference. Thanks for your compliment to these two team members: you're right, recognition is in order! Hope to see you again sometime at Ibhayi. Til then, best wishes from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Always a pleasant stay at Ibhayi. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
On arrival (in the rain), I did carry my own luggage to reception which was rather annoying, but otherwise all good.
Thank you .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Ibhayi Town Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thanks for staying with us at Ibhayi, and for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate these reviews very much. I'm so sorry you had to manage your bags by yourself in the rain. Next time, please scurry into reception as fast as you can and we'll grab the keys and get those bags sorted out. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes from the Ibhayi team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

It is not often, that one, would get services at a high quality place for a low entry price.

This I haven't even seen in places such as Johannesburg etc... Although it was a business trip, it really felt as if I was on holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fourie_sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Ibhayi Town Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for such a great review. These reviews make a big difference to us. It's great to hear about your experience with us, and we hope to see you back here soon. Best wishes from all of us at Ibhayi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This truely is a lovely guest lodge with beautiful surroundings, very nice staff and comfortable yet classy rooms. Everything needed is available.
Leo's Bostro was the highlight of my stay, with all meals prepared expertly by the chef...it is a pitty that they will only be functioning in a limited capacity from now on.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Juanina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Ibhayi Town Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
So good to hear your comments - thanks for such a lovely review. Good news is that we're working on getting Leo's back to evening trade again. We're starting with lunches, and will move on and upwards from there! Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes from all of us at Ibhayi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Two things I need to mention that can be improved on. (1) the room smelt of smoke when I entered it and again when I walked in at night - not good. (2) the blind in the kitchen that is missing by the door handle gives an insecure feel of someone that can look into the room. Nice and clean otherwise and well situated.


  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Monique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Ibhayi Town Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thanks for the two great points of feedback. Our rooms are non-smoking, but we do have the odd guest that ignores the signs. Our housekeeping staff need to manage this better though, and we will look in to this. Also good to hear about the blinds. I'll check this out. Thanks for staying with us: we appreciate the business and will work with the team on your feedback. Best wishes from all of us at Ibhayi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I was travelling on business to PE and booked the lodge. I was highly surprised when I got there and saw the beautiful garden. The rooms are spacious with the bathrooms being more spacious. I was quite impressed with the breakfast room which is within the grounds. The quality of the breakfast itself was just outstanding. A suggestion : put up very subtle signage to indicate which side the rooms are especially for first time guests, I got a bit lost at night trying to find the parking area from my room. Also a dinner in that quaint restaurant is a MUST please...you need to bring it back because I believe you used to have it. Dinner in that restaurant would be really awesome...I would go back again and again...I think it's my new home for PE...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bridget T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Ibhayi Town Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
What a great review Bridget - thank you! We agree, the winding paths through the gardens can make it a little confusing at night: we've put some signs up now, so when you're next with us, let us know if we've got it covered. We're also glad to report we're working on getting Leo's Bistro back up and running in the evenings again. Watch this space! Til we see you again, best wishes from all of us at Ibhayi and Leo's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.8 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
4.1 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#26 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria and Alfred Guest House
Victoria and Alfred Guest House
#37 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.4 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#4 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibhayi Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibhayi Town Lodge

Property: Ibhayi Town Lodge
Address: Cnr Main Rd & 9th Avenue | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa (Formerly Ibhayi Guest Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibhayi Town Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibhayi Town Lodge is Port Elizabeth’s answer to a friendly home away from home for business travelers and holiday makers alike. This four-star town lodge has twenty large comfortable rooms and four spacious family suites. All rooms have a full en-suite bathroom and a convenient kitchenette nook with fridge, tea/coffee station, and basic appliances. Breakfasts are served in the dining room or the pool deck. We'll happily prepare a light snack or dinner on request. The new business centre and Leo's Bistro restaurant can cater for conferences up to 50 people seated as well as functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibhayi Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing