We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, great location and helpful staff an”

Kings Beach Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Beach Backpackers
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, great location and helpful staff an”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great stop off here, was in a perfect location to explore port elizabeth. The staff were welcoming, talkative and helpful. The place was clean with tea coffee and breakfast (toast) provided. Would recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Callum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    9
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
13
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

For half of the rate for a single room compared to the B&Bs I have been staying at in PE before, its a very good deal. Of course a B&B gives another level of quality, which is expected for ensuite and double the rate, but for the money Kings Beach Backpackers is a very good deal. Was worried before I got there about the reviews which talked about cats and dogs, as I am allergic, but I talked to them before and true enough this was no issue at all. Clean sheets, clean public areas and bathrooms, extra towels in room, blankets for the cold in winter, spreads on toast and coffee in the morning, and very friendly staff that go out of their way to help and great to talk to; makes it a very good deal. Its also very centrally located in Humewood, making it close to the beachwalk and public transport. So make the grade a 4, but sniffing on a 5 according to the rate they take

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad_from_the_north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
175 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I had spoken with lovely Wendy on the phone, the owner, who unfortunately had the weekend off that I arrived. Unfortunately I caught David during what I assumed was his favorite TV show - first when I was considerate enough to call and say I was running late on the road (his response very disinterested and cold), and upon arrival he could not be bothered with showing me around other than vaguely pointing in one direction or another as to where the bathrooms and showers were - and after making sure he got my payment and quickly bringing me to my room, rushed back to his TV so as to not miss his program. Walking in and out over the weekend I was not particularly welcomed with open arms. Not saying I am Mr. Social or exceptionally outgoing but I do enjoy the odd conversation and friendly host who might be curious about me or my trip or willing to give a few tips. So I kind of got the creeps. But other than that the room was fine, bed comfortable, place secure, neighborhood good and central, and PE does have lovely beaches if you head out towards Recife and there is a really cool bohemian neighborhood that kind of reminds me of Melville in Johannesburg but tamer called Richmond Hill. As far as staying at Kings again - only if the lovely, friendly owner Wendy were there during my stay. If she were there I would have definitely given at least 4 stars.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I booked with lovely place not by recommendation but my a guy instinct and I was right!
Very cozy, friendly place and the staff especially are always ready to assist you with travel plans. Great wrap around front porch.
We stayed in a twin room, however, we had to walk to the bathroom which was outside and when it rained...not much fun.
The location is excellent and a relatively short drive to Addo Elephant park.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk outside to the loo, especially in the middle of the night I suggest th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGill_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We loved out peacefull stay at PE. David and little molly made our stay very very good! The hostel is close to the beach and shopping facillities. The staff is very helpfull with bookings, transfers, etc.the rooms very clean the kitchen had everything. Thanks for our stay

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The staff here go above and beyond to accommodate your needs. I found this place to be very hospitable and welcoming, something every Back packers should strive to have. Great location and very clean.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cocopx3i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

What lovely place to stay!
In a great location close to restaurants,bars and the beach.
It was very relaxing and the staff there were very friendly and helpful. The dog Molly was also very friendly!
The staff helped us to organise our trip to Addo and schotia also to sea view lion sanctuary.
Free breakfast was a bonus.
The dorms were clean and tidy.
Would highly recommend to stay here.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DaneandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.0 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#26 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bishops Inn
Bishops Inn
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blue Bay BnB
Blue Bay BnB
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
9.0 mi away
Dolphin Dance Lodge
Dolphin Dance Lodge
#29 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Windermere by Mantis
The Windermere by Mantis
#12 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Beach Backpackers

Property: Kings Beach Backpackers
Address: 41 Windermere Road, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing