We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Humewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Humewood Hotel
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Location is excellent the public areas are spacious and clean bedrooms are large with new digital safes.Good variety at breakfast food standards were good the hotel represents good value would stay their again.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are best a few with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19,211,917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

In the middle of January 2013 we were invited by friends to join them for Sunday lunch at the Humewood Hotel. Right on the beach front we enjoyed a quite drink in their lounge overlooking the beach front. At the designated time we moved through into the diningroom where we enjoyed a top class meal, choosing from - salad, cold meats and fish starters, roast leg of lamb and beef, roast chicken, oxtail, roast potatoes and a variety of vegetables and then the sweets, too many to name, a sweet junkies dream, cheese and biscuits and tea/coffee.
After this meal we vowed not to eat again until at least Tuesday of the next week. The meal was self-service but at no time was there ever more than two diners in the queue, and waiters were always present and ready to assist. A most enjoyable meal and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with family. VERY friendly staff! Easy access to beach across the road. Breakfast was good. Had their buffet dinner which was a bit pricey but delicious. Rooms were big and comfortable. Thanks to George and Jackie for being so helpful and friendly. I am sure you will see us again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 970SharonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

we stayed at the Humewood hotel for a night. the atmosphere was warm and friendly and the breakfast and dinner outstanding. the staff were extremely friendly, especially Jacky and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel manager can be very proud of his staff and his hands on approach was great! the rooms were large, the towels soft and fluffy and the beds very comfortable with a lovely view of the ocean.
the location was great and close to the beach and boardwalk complex. it is not too far from the airport and Walmer.
i will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidays038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

A small, very friendly hotel, with a great food selection, and very obliging staff. Our 3rd visit & it won't be the last. The SAGA group no longer dominate as it is not in their brochure any more (More fool them for dropping it). I cannot understand "Gadmans" review, as the Hotel does not have room service!. Agreed it could do with a spruce up, but this does not detract from our enjoyment. If I was to be over critical, the fact that the main road runs past the hotel does make sitting on the terrace noisy at times, but this is compensated by the fact the excellent beach is only about 200 yards from the hotel entrance. I can certainly agree with everything that has been said about Jackie. Nothing was too much trouble. Roll on 2013.

Room Tip: Any with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baseballforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The Humewood has seen better days, but is still popular with group tour operators--the Saga group seemed to dominate the place. We only stayed one night, and didn't have any major complaints--except for the room service waiter berating my wife because he thought she'd stolen a spoon!
There are plenty of other better hotels along this beachfront strip, so don't let a package agent slip this one in on your South Africa tour.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The staff was very friendly here, especially Jackie! No trouble was too much for her.
The hotel is a bit outdated though, but the location and Jackie compensated more than enough for this.
We sure like to come back again

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veldhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.8 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
382 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humewood Hotel

Address: 33 Beach Road | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £61 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Humewood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Humewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing