We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & Welcoming”
Review of Mongoose Manor

Mongoose Manor
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mongoose Manor
Ranked #29 of 235 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Attention to detail and friendly, efficient staff made this a wow experience. The welcoming letter at the entrance, to Robyn's warm welcome and eagerness to please made me feel at home from the moment I arrived. The room was spacious as was the bathroom. The house is set in a lovely garden with a small river flowing through it. Even though it is in the city it is peaceful and just the place to relax after a busy day. The food was very delicious and enough to satisfy the largest appetite. The only negative was that my room was above the pub and some inconsiderate guests came in at 1.30 in the morning making a lot of noise, but when it was brought to the attention of management it was quickly resolved and I could go back to sleep. I would definitely recommend Mongoose Manor and I would stay with them again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cecilia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Well situated B&B in suburb of Port Elizabeth. Friendly staff and room pleasant and well serviced. Secure property with ample parking. Family room was located above B&B breakfast room - which was noisy from 06h00 in the mornings. Access to room somewhat laborious as we had to lock/unlock several doors to access our room.



  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Very large rooms, wireless but also the feeling to be in a real african cottage with phantastic landlords and in the middle of a botanical garden. I selected the mogoose because it was very close to the Marathon starting point, but I must say that i was extremely lucky


Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We recently stayed at Mongoose Manor to meet up with family before a wedding at Cape St Francis. We found it to be a great central point for visiting some of the many game parks in the area and also the beautiful coast which was not far away. We are from New Zealand and we were made to feel very welcome at Mongoose and also very secure with their property well fenced and alarmed. We loved the relaxing gardens which were overlooked by a lovely big patio. Our breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed the private bar in the evenings for our pre dinner drinks. Rhonda was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We will not hesitate to send any other Kiwi visitors to Mongoose Manor in PE

Room Tip: The end room overlooking the garden is the most private if you are wanting quiet time away but other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndaD61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A beautiful converted unusual home set with yellow wood pillars and floors in the main house, wooded garden, and stream, with easy access to the center of the City.Safe and secure parking behind locked gates. Warm friendly atmosphere,good food, big comfortable rooms with all the small touches that go with a really well organised, good B&B plus the friendly owner is happy to accommodate reasonable requests....really a home from home. Will definitely recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a place to stay, and would personally go back to stay when in Port Elizabeth.
Greg P. Durban, South Africa..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A really pleasant stay and friendly service at Mongoose Manor on my recent trip to PE. Beautiful gardens and delicious breakfasts. Highly recommended for a relaxed weekend stay, a haven in between business meetings or a venue for wedding party to dress/stay ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a very good stay in BB Mongoose. We felt like at home, we enjoyed the room, the garden besides the small river, the birds, the trees, the flowers...The attention and the details were also worth mentioning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jordi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
15.6 mi away
The Garden Lodge Guest House
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
10.6 mi away
Dolphin Dance Lodge
Dolphin Dance Lodge
#27 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Murphys
Murphys
#2 of 4 in Beachview
32 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
353 reviews
8.2 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mongoose Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mongoose Manor

Address: 245 Circular Drive | Woodlands, Port Elizabeth 6045, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £40 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mongoose Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mongoose Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing