We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of Jikeleza Lodge

Jikeleza Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jikeleza Lodge
Ranked #172 of 230 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I think the reviews which the place gets on here are not very fair. Granted, we only spent about 6 hours there changing over from the BazBuses, but we found the room to be quiet and the mattresses to be comfortable. I had a really good sleep. It isn't in the best part of town, but for the night that we needed, it was fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melj234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    4
    11
    5
See reviews for
2
10
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Booked a double then arrived late on the baz bus and were told that we were in a twin, and when we asked if there was a discount for changing our booking without telling us, we were aggressively told that the rooms were the same price by the creepy man at reception. Wifi not free, access to the bathrooms is via outside, the walls are paper thin and there isn't a lot going on. Kitchen is fine and security seems fine. Would honestly pay 10R more a night and just stay somewhere that was nicer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daroooool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Elizabeth hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2012

A convenient location but the guy on duty was very unfriendly. They double booked us and we had to find somewhere else for the second night, which they helped us to do. The room was ok, be careful not to hit your head on the low beam in the bathroom. If you can find somewhere else, I recommend you do

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

we arrived late with baz bus on a very cold rainy night into a run down reception area with the main door wide opened allowing the wet cold wind in and TV blaring from the lounge next door. the male staff member on duty would not turn the TV down so we could actually hear what he was attempting to say and then demanded cash payment immediately. when we asked for a receipt he became very rude toward us and then walked away! we didn't know what was going on until he grunted at us and gestured impatiently - we worked out we were meant to follow him.

we had asked and paid for a twin room with a private en-suite. what we got on an extremely cold windy rainy night was taken outside and shown a bathroom (that was flithly and shared with 4 other rooms) and then taken to a dorm room of 2 bunk beds and 2 single beds. it was freezing in the room and the wind and rain were blowing under the door.

so we figured things would look better in the morning once we got some sleep - NO they were worse as the daylight highlighted everything WRONG with this place. We had to get out of there so we decided to book one of their advertised Addo Park tours. The male staff member had limited English skills but was savvy enough to demand up front payment for the tour. The tour guide duly arrived and then demanded payment from us. when we told him it had already been paid to the reception and we showed him the receipt he was not pleased. anyway he was a disenfranchised Englishman who had emigrated to SA a number of years previously and he spent most the tour telling us how bad SA is bombarding us with his political views. He was a lousy guide and when we asked questions about Addo Park, it's vegetation and other features HE COULDN'T ANSWER BECAUSE HE DIDN'T KNOW

there are much better backpackers in PE and I recommend you don't bother with this one. It is not near anything, the area feels very unsafe and the safe can hardly communicate with the guests. plus it's DIRTY

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigglesandsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

We arrived. Guy on desk was unhelpful. Our private room was a shed outside! Cold in spring time! The next day when asking what there is to do. They didn't tell us anything. We had to find out for ourselves getting lost and through some dodgey areas! Never again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fully7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Jikeleza Lodge is a fantastic place to stay, definitely the best place in Port Elizabeth. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, it's SUPER clean, and it's in a great location only a few minutes walk to the heart of downtown. Best of all, they strive to keep their rates low & there's a TV with cable.

Room Tip: The second floor, where I stayed, is closest to the kitchen, which is a plus. Outside are private ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

After backpacking for several weeks in South Africa, we were really impressed with all of the backpackers hostels we went to. They were all clean with a great atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff and nice room and dorms!

However, Jikeleza Lodge could not have been more different. We arrived late after a long journey on the Baz Bus to the most unfriendly staff ever. There was no welcome or tour of the hostel, but just a grumpy demand for money from a women who seemed to barely speak English and refused to gives us a receipt for an R1000 cash only payment for a safari.

We were staying in what is advertised on their website as a nice double room, but it turned out to be a garden shed in the back of the garden they had plonked a bed in. In early spring this was FREEZING at night and even during the day. Then, it LEAKED really badly over our electric plugs during the heavy spring rain. We reported this to the staff who were again useless and did nothing to help solve the problem or offer any form of compensation. They could not even move us to a different room even though it was clear the hostel was not at all full!

The hostel is also in a quite dodgy area and certainly not the in the heart of "nearby coffee shops, traditional African restaurants, pubs, banks, 24 hour grocery shops, antique shops, art museums and galleries, the local swimming pool, horticultural gardens, nightspots or jazz clubs, and the beach" the website promises. Even during the day we felt uncomfortable walking in the streets. I would recommend staying in the area nearer the beach which was really nice and had a lots of facilities.

The bathrooms were off the worse standard we saw in SA. They were dirty, smelt, weren't cleaned whilst we were there, and you could not stand in either of the two showers I tried (I am only 164cm!!!)!

We chose to stay there because they offered a free township tour for clients who stayed three nights - but again firstly the staff had no idea about this discount and when we finally got them to ring the manager they "did not have adequate transport" during our stay but they could offer us one that you paid for?!

The one good aspect is that the offer an excellent safari to Addo and Schotia which was great. But do this with another hostel and do not stay here!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't have the double in the shed! Dorms looked like a better standard for a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.2 mi away
Valley Guest House
Valley Guest House
#53 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
24 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
#11 of 78 in Port Elizabeth
190 reviews
3.7 mi away
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
#2 of 7 in Summerstrand
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
19.0 mi away
The Garden Lodge Guest House
0.9 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jikeleza Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jikeleza Lodge

Property: Jikeleza Lodge
Address: 44 Cuyler Street | Central, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and explore the revamped young heart of Port Elizabeth. Jikeleza is just a few streets away from the buzzing nightlife that will swallow you in and take you on a true local ride. The clubs in the area range from hip hop to African house to classic mainstream radio funk. Parliament & Stanley Streets have become the local hang outs, so who really needs a club anyway! Let's party in the street! Have a lazy cocktail at one of the cafes while you lounge in their on street couches or chow down on huge chip rolls. Visit live music and theatre shows, banks, post office, pubs and 24 hour shops. Whatever you fancy, it is only a brisk walk away and our door is open all day and all night, so come home when you want to. Or relax with the other guests around the evening fire and enjoy a local Braai. There is always something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Jikeleza Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing