We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Effort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolphin Dance Lodge
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“B&B Effort”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This B&B is located in Bluewater in Port Elizabeth, not idealistically close to the main city hub if your in town for business as odd hours.

The residence is self, is very nice, safe and secure and quite attractive.

The rooms, unfortunately are very small, and the be placement of basic services in the room are not well co-ordinated with the minibar fridge next to your bed which like any fridge tends to wake up in the middle of the night buzzing.

The staff are friendly and breakfast pretty good... so for a decent over nighter this place is perfect, but for holiday accommodation I personally have stayed in better.

Room Tip: Do not choose the room on the lower floors inside the main lodge, as you hear the alarm buzzer the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The b&b has no direct access to the sea at all: you have to walk for not less than 1 km to reach it. No air-conditioning as well. The room are close to the living room and starting from 6 30 am you hear a lot of noise of staff working around. The photos advertised on their web-site are misleading. Once the guest enters the first time inside the room realizes that they are terribly small and over-packed with furniture. One of the armchairs in our room contained cloths, towels of the b&b and a number of times we made the bad experience of hearing the maids knocking at our door to take some material. The cleanliness of the rooms was also very questionable: during the first night we found a rag forgotten by one of the maids inside the bedlinen along with some hairs. There was also a spider net inside one of the armchairs. We have been lucky to have a 'sea-facing' room (you can hardly spot the sea beyond the bush), but many rooms have windows (and some of them even access) facing the parking area: I cannot imagine what nasty experience could be to hear an engine of a car starting only two meters from your bed.
In summary, this b&b does not deserve the 4 stars it claims and I sincerely wonder how they managed to obtain such rating. You do not get what you pay for. Not recommended at all!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeAlemanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in the lodge for one night to break up a longish drive but we enjoyed our short stay. The place is kept very clean and the breakfast was very good as well and the place has very nice lounge/dining areas with great views. Our room overlooked the hotel car park but they have other rooms with sea views - which is worth it because it's a nice beach!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2011

My colleagues and I stayed for 10 days. What a great place to stay when working in and around Port Elizabeth. Its location made it very easy to get around. We were very comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The free Wi-Fi made it easy to work from anywhere in the Lodge. I can really recommend this beautiful place

Room Tip: Sea view stunning. Executive good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Great view of sea. Sea appears as if there is hundreds of Dolphins are dancing. We stayed there with family with our teenager children, However, the view is great from 2nd level rooms and not ground floor rooms. Rooms are relatively small but very clean and good, new like. Everything is running perfect - no complain and the owner is very friendly and the staff are very good in serving you breakfast. Breakfast are quite good. The place is little in a location where there are only bun glows so after 5 PM there is no activity and bit scary to get out of the gate. But the morning are the best part. Lovely view and sea breeze. I recommend for families who love nature and view. Must have a car to reach there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mehbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Although we enjoyed our stay in a nice room and had great breakfast, I experienced a billing problem which the hotel refused to resolve. E-mailed them several times and received a reply stating they would review. I sent several follow-up e-mails, but received no reply.
Too bad.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveTraveling154914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Arrived late and welcome by Stacey ( new owner ) very nice rooms.
Carpark behind security gates at no charge.
Good location if your moving off to Addo ( like we did ) or east along the coast.
Very nice breakfast.
Stacey very helpful in advising what to do and where to go.
Shall return if in area again.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
8.7 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
175 reviews
9.6 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
51 reviews
9.3 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Blue Bay BnB
Blue Bay BnB
#6 of 13 in Summerstrand
25 reviews
9.2 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#14 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
104 reviews
9.1 mi away
Brookes Hill Suites
Brookes Hill Suites
#28 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Dance Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Dance Lodge

Property: Dolphin Dance Lodge
Address: 11 Bluewater Close | Bluewater Bay, Port Elizabeth 6210, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Dance Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin Dance lodge is a Beach Front 4 Star Guest house in Bluewater Bay, Port Elizabeth. The lodge is only minutes from the Soccer stadium. Enjoy your breakfast and sundowners overlooking the ocean and view Dolphins and Whales in season.Dolphin Dance’s location is ideal for tourist and businessman. The Airport and Addo Elephant Park is only 20min away while the new 2010 soccer stadium, casino, city center and Coega Harbor is approx 10 minutes away. The nearest shopping center, medical facilities and gym is conveniently only 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolphin Dance Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing