We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure what you want”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolphin Dance Lodge
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Make sure what you want”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I will not really call Bluewater Bay a prime holiday spot, but we got exactly what we looked for, a self-catering flat (managed by Dolphin Dance) north of the city, so the criticisms of some other reviewers were not an issue for us - the lack of restaurants in the area was our biggest gripe. The flat was spacious, clean (serviced daily), well maintained, sufficiently furnished and had a well stocked kitchen - only missing a braai grid. It was also fairly cosy during a few very cold winter nights. All staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and efficient. Also represents fair value for money. Will not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Probably not a great holiday destination, but great if you have to be in the specific area and want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TsamayaSentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at their self catering apartment at Bluewaters - some 15 Kms from the main city centre. But that's what we wanted - lil away from all the chaos, yet accessible. The apartment is just about a kilometer away from the beach, meant that you are never far away from fun. The rooms are nicely done and airy. Did not see air conditions though, guess summers can be a little difficult. There is ample parking place. The supermarket, chemist & liquor shop are just abt 300 meters away... meaning you are safe. If you want to go out with friends & family and ok to stay sans the usual chaos, then this is the place to be.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chandan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My first time in Port Elizabeth was impressed by the clean beaches hence the fact that they are a blue flag status it says it all.though it wus raining during the easter weekend but what a good time we had.the accomodation at Dolphin Dance was quiet welcoming and homely and the staff greeted us to hearty breakfast in the mornings big ups to them they were very friendly.I felt the time for our stay was too short we spent only 2nights and had so many places to explore.we had dinner @ Angelos Italian restaurant where we had a nice sea view while enjoying our meal in Walmer.We also visited the Boardwalk entertainment centre and had fun.Being party animals we took a drive to Motherwell and got to Monde's pub where we were welcomed by the friendly patrons and had a good time.I would definately stay again at Dolphin Dance Lodge and recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwekhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My wife and I had a short but pleasant stay at Dolphin Dance Lodge on our way to a Game Reserve. Bianca was very helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. She provided us excellent service from start to finish. The rooms are clean and quiet, though they are a but small. All the appointments are tasteful and comfortable.
Breakfast was fine. This is a B&B about 10 minute drive from Port Elizabeth so you do need to drive to get to the beach or to the Boardwalk. Our room was right next to the dining room but we did not hear anything except the chirping of birds in the morning.
This is a god place for a short 1 night stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pkrplayer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Hotel is basically a large house on a large housing estate. Its out of the town and away from the main beaches and any shops. There are no facilities to walk to near the hotel which surrounded by a very high wall electric fence and guard.
Photos a little misleading
The bedroom was small and like staying in some ones spare room. While clean and comfortable unfortunately its not suitable for a holiday stay there is no pool or gardens to sit in.

Room Tip: One large house converted so all rooms similar. Ours faced the sea, but not very picturesque Contain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anngray8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This B&B is located in Bluewater in Port Elizabeth, not idealistically close to the main city hub if your in town for business as odd hours.

The residence is self, is very nice, safe and secure and quite attractive.

The rooms, unfortunately are very small, and the be placement of basic services in the room are not well co-ordinated with the minibar fridge next to your bed which like any fridge tends to wake up in the middle of the night buzzing.

The staff are friendly and breakfast pretty good... so for a decent over nighter this place is perfect, but for holiday accommodation I personally have stayed in better.

Room Tip: Do not choose the room on the lower floors inside the main lodge, as you hear the alarm buzzer the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The b&b has no direct access to the sea at all: you have to walk for not less than 1 km to reach it. No air-conditioning as well. The room are close to the living room and starting from 6 30 am you hear a lot of noise of staff working around. The photos advertised on their web-site are misleading. Once the guest enters the first time inside the room realizes that they are terribly small and over-packed with furniture. One of the armchairs in our room contained cloths, towels of the b&b and a number of times we made the bad experience of hearing the maids knocking at our door to take some material. The cleanliness of the rooms was also very questionable: during the first night we found a rag forgotten by one of the maids inside the bedlinen along with some hairs. There was also a spider net inside one of the armchairs. We have been lucky to have a 'sea-facing' room (you can hardly spot the sea beyond the bush), but many rooms have windows (and some of them even access) facing the parking area: I cannot imagine what nasty experience could be to hear an engine of a car starting only two meters from your bed.
In summary, this b&b does not deserve the 4 stars it claims and I sincerely wonder how they managed to obtain such rating. You do not get what you pay for. Not recommended at all!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeAlemanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
8.9 mi away
Bishops Inn
Bishops Inn
#27 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
17 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Windermere by Mantis
The Windermere by Mantis
#15 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
120 reviews
9.2 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#14 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Brookes Hill Suites
Brookes Hill Suites
#29 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
90 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
427 reviews
9.3 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Dance Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Dance Lodge

Property: Dolphin Dance Lodge
Address: 11 Bluewater Close | Bluewater Bay, Port Elizabeth 6210, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Dance Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin Dance lodge is a Beach Front 4 Star Guest house in Bluewater Bay, Port Elizabeth. The lodge is only minutes from the Soccer stadium. Enjoy your breakfast and sundowners overlooking the ocean and view Dolphins and Whales in season.Dolphin Dance’s location is ideal for tourist and businessman. The Airport and Addo Elephant Park is only 20min away while the new 2010 soccer stadium, casino, city center and Coega Harbor is approx 10 minutes away. The nearest shopping center, medical facilities and gym is conveniently only 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolphin Dance Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing