We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Quality”

Cobblestone Bistro & Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We concentrate on the old-fashioned, natural grained breads which are made from stone-ground flour, some of which we mill, therefore, the flour retains all the germ and bran which produces a rich, nutty, almost caramel-coloured bread, containing no preservatives or additives making it highly nutritious and healthy.Our Menu is filled with tempting meals - Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner that will make you miss home. Comfort food just the way mom used to make it. - Slow Cooked Oxtail (Mom's Own) - Pork Fillet - Curries - Bobotie - Creamy Chicken LiversOur Sweets department will satisfy any Sweettooth. Ranging from: - Magic Bars (Yummy) - Cheese Cake (Mom's Recipe) - Brownies - Lemon Meringues
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Quality”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Constantly visiting PE for Business, I cant not go around to Cobblestone. With some of the best coffee I've ever had, and some of the heartiest meals to grace my face, this is a must for every single business, leisure, local or international traveller. Friendly staff, attentive owners and, again, the best damn coffee, makes this one of my top restaurants in SA. For Business people, they offer free wifi, making business meetings a pleasure. Well Done to the owners and staff of this fine establishment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Happy gatherings”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Visiting a friend in PE she introduced me to the friendly owners of this warm coffee shop in which the lovely aroma of freshly baked bread lingered. Went there twice for breakfast and both times I was very satisfied. The service was swift, the food a good helping and their Red Cappuccino is divine! Even brought home a slice of their "Magic Bars" - decadent layers of chocolate, fudge & biscuit. Mmm... This bakery/coffee shop has a lovely warmth to it and we sure enjoyed our gatherings there. The menu also has quite a variety on offer. Would love to go back there someday for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“New ownership and not the same place”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We used to love this place. The food was good and even though the service was slow we didn't mind the wait knowing what was coming out of the kitchen. The new owners are very pleasant and the portions are ample, pricing is also good. The missing ingrediant is that quantity does not replace quality and serving huge portions that are heavy and filling does not make up for losing the finess that used to be there. The pizzas are huge but thick and doughy. The breakfasts are served with vast quatities of ciabatta and it is all jsut a bit too much. The setting is still good and the service is fine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahthexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely tasty Breakfast”
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Ordered the Cobblestone breakfast which gave us the feeling and taste that we where having a wholesome farmers meal. They went the extra mile, eg the tomatoes where roasted with a touch of herbs, the beans had been prepared with finely diced onions, and the boerewors was good not fatty. Homemade toasted pot bread accompanied the meal with honey on the side. We left feeling satisfied that this was a delicious, non greasy (which happens so often), breakfast, and we will definitely be going back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bridigit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An enjoyable friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Great place to escape... a number of original items on their menu and daily they bake a variety of fresh breads from stoneground flour as well as other baked goodies including a good selection of gluten-free breads.

Their pizzas are excellent and I loved the smoked chicken pita! Good friendly service!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigDuffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cobblestone Bistro & Bakery also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Cobblestone Bistro & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing