We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belvedere Cottages & B&B
Ranked #32 of 230 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midrand, South Africa
1 review
“Superb !”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

A wonderful find. Peter met us, showed us the ins & outs and gave us advice about restaurants/coffee shop in the area. The cottage is beautifully appointed with absolutely nothing lacking. A beautiful, peaceful little garden.
Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you Heidi,
It was a great pleasure to have you at Belvedere Cottage and we hope that you will visit The Friendly City again soon.

Warm regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    14
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
19
33
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We booked in at Belvedere Cottages on the Port Elizabeth leg of our tour through South Africa. We were welcomed by kind Roy and his assistant Zozo. What a warm welcome!
They made us immediately feel at home and settled us into a beautiful cottage. It has everything you need from free internet to cable television and a charming little garden with barbeque The beds are very comfortable and the linen is sumptuous.
We only had two days in Port Elizabeth and did not know where to start. Roy insisted on taking us on an orientation tour of the city and immediate area. This was very convenient and greatly appreciated. There are excellent restaurants and coffee shops near the cottage. We were regulars at Vovo Telo for breakfast and then Roy introduced us to The Rose Garden Tea House near the Walmer Park Shopping center at a lovely garden center called Floradale. We arrived at lunch time and enjoyed phyllo parcels with salad and the best lemon meringue I have ever had.
Thank you Roy & Zozo for taking such good care of us in Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Hi Sally,

It was really great to host you during your stay in Port Elizabeth. May you have many more wonderful travel experiences!!!!

Warm regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pietermartizburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed for one night but wish it had been more. From doing the booking, to staying in the cottage everything was dealt with in a highly efficent manner. Roy was amazing to say the least.He was there to meet us when we arrived, gave us wonderful advice about all the resturants in the area and anything else we needed to know, nothing was too much for him. I was also very impressed with the way Roy dealt with me cancelling a night. I had to cancel a night the day before we were due to arrive due to a change in our plans. He was so understanding and had absolute no problem with refunding me for the one night and the money was back into my account the next day.
I was generally so impressed with Port Elizabeth, great food, great service, friendly, and of course great accomadation at Belvedere Cottage. Thanks Roy and your team

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Caz & Annie,

Thank you for giving us such a wonderful review. It was a real pleasure to welcome you to Belvedere Cottage.
We will come and find you in the Midlands of Kwazulu Natal. Your Dargle Valley Pork Products are simply the best. Thank you for the delicious surprise on your arrival.

Hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards, Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I stayed at Belvedere Cottages earlier this month. It was the best decision I could have made. Roy went above and beyond to ensure that my stay was an unforgettable experience. I have stayed in a few B&B's for business trips and it is not often that you find one such as Belvedere Cottages where the staff and owner will go to such great lengths to ensure you have the perfect experience in their establishment. I would recommend Belvedere cottages to any traveler looking for the perfect experience in Port Elizabeth. No matter what the purpose of your stay is, Roy and his staff will do everything in their power to make sure you are happy and taken care of for the entire duration of your stay.

Well done Roy, I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skukuza, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed for one night at the end of our garden route tour. We were welcomed with open arms by Roy who is the most wonderful host and gave us great restaurant recommendations as well as touristy spots to check out. He even woke up at 5am to come see us off on the day of our departure! Loved the furnishings, ornaments and decor. Wonderful space for both a one night stay or in fact a longer stay. Beautiful garden which I wish I'd had more time to relax in. Fantastic range of appliances, crockery, cutlery etc.

My only complaint was that the neighbours played loud music until midnight and it was so loud that it felt like it was inside my room. But that's not Roy's fault and I'm sure this isn't the norm. And also that the main bedroom's en-suite didn't have any hot water in the morning.

Would definitely recommend Belvedere Cottages and thank you again Roy!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
It was a pleasure to host representatives from one of the top game lodges in South Africa and their comments are valued.

Apologies for the neighbour’s birthday party. There is always abundant hot water, but the tap must run a bit for the water to flow from the parent geyser.

Thank you for the feedback.

Warm regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed for a weekend to watch the rugby test match. Roy gave us a spin round town and dropped us at the game. We had an awsome time, resturants and pubs within walking distance. Safe area to walk around at night.

House is perfect, comfortable, clean and great value. will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4south
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Appreciative guests only inspire a guesthouse owner to achieve even higher results. Positive feedback is a motivating incentive. Thank you and we look forward to welcome you back to Belvedere Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Thanks Roy for going out of your way & beyond the call of duty in giving us a lift to the stadium on Saturday, it is this type of service which will always have people returning time & time again, well done.
I will not hesitate in recomending Belvedere Cottages to everyone and anyone who may need a place to stay in PE..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Hi Grant,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your friends to Belvedere Cottage and what a bonus that our team won the match. Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium was packed to the rafters!
We will come to enjoy Chillifields B&B on our next visit to KZN and enjoy your beautiful setting.

Our kindest regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.2 mi away
GuestHouse on Irvine
GuestHouse on Irvine
#48 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
53 reviews
1.4 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#2 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
539 reviews
6.8 mi away
Le Blue Guesthouse
Le Blue Guesthouse
#18 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zareba B&B Guesthouse
Zareba B&B Guesthouse
#42 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
44 reviews
2.3 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
413 reviews
2.1 mi away
Conifer Beach House
Conifer Beach House
#5 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Cottages & B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Cottages & B&B

Property: Belvedere Cottages & B&B
Address: 15 Edward Street | Richmond Hill, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Belvedere Cottages & B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation is located on popular Richmond Hill and Park Drive, Port Elizabeth. We are literally around the corner from some of Port Elizabeth's best known facilities and attractions. The cottages are self catering and offer affordable luxury. FREE WIRELESS INTERNET. Stylishly appointed, both properties offer bedrooms with private bathrooms, and each cottage has its own fully equipped kitchen. The high standard of comfort appeals to all types of guests- from romantic honeymoon couples to corporate travellers & relocation, alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belvedere Cottages & B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing