We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belvedere Cottages & B&B
Ranked #34 of 223 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“nice place to stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Very nice, quiet place, lovely furnitured with pretty garden (left house). very friendly and extraordinary helpful host. He did a sightseeing-tour with us and helped with my passport (possibly lost). He also gave us good tips, where to go around.

Room Tip: Try to get the lefthand house with the mainentrance (not the one with the garage).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flawless1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi Oliver,

It was really great to meet you both. I am so happy that you enjoyed the private game reserve safari too.
Thank you for the kind review.
We hope to see you back at Belvedere Cottages on your next visit to South Africa.

Warm regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    13
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
19
31
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walmer
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

It is pink Its fab As a seasoned B & B traveler this is the best well equipped accommodation I have ever come across The host Roy thank you for your hospitality and making our stay one of the best on our holiday We will be back You set a precedent to other establishments that we have stayed -all the best

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hi Johan,

A lovely surprise to receive your kind review. THANK YOU!

We will visit you at "Die Smous" in Graaff Reinet soon.

Warm regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Going down on a business trip to Port Elizabeth area is already stressfull enough. The Cottage was like a little private haven after a long working day.
Love the garden, the decor, the history of the building and the way it was upgraded to cater for every need.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jolanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi Jolanda,

Thank you for coming to stay at Belvedere Cottage and writing a review.
I will hold thumbs to see you back one of these days.

Warm regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
170 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights before heading to Cape Town.
The cottages are delightful, they are in an area on Richmond hill that has a wealth of Victorian cottages . A nice area to stroll.
The cottage we were in is I think the smaller of the 2 and entered thru what seems to be the garage. The other cottage has a much nicer aspect and looks like a cottage.
The cottage has beautiful outdoor garden patio , a great spot to relax.
Very secure with alarm and window bars, something we find strange but the way it is in S Africa
The area is close to the city and around 15 minutes from the beach.
Very well furnished with antique pieces that complement the place and add to the ambience.
Quiet enough except for the barking dog next door that can be a nuisence .
The cottages have full kitchens , if you don't want to cook then there are about a dozen restaurants 10 minutes walk away.
Roy , the owner, is extremely helpful, picked us from the airport and is willing to help in any way he can, even taking guests on a tour of the city.
It would be nice if he lived on site but he is only a short distance away if needed.
All in all a really nice comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Maybe the cottage facing the street is larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OskarandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
My dear Peter & Aileen,

Thank you for your lovely email and subsequent review on Tripadvisor. It was a delight to meet you both and spend time with you showing you the sites of the city. What a pity that Aileen arrived not feeling well after Kruger Park. I hope she made a speedy recuperation at Belvedere Mews.

We would love to host you at Belvedere Cottage on your next visit. The cottage offers accommodation for 4 guests and is available at a slightly higher rate than the Mews.

Enjoy Cape Town.

Safe travels,

Roy & Zozo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My sister (visiting from England) and I stayed for 4 nights at the cottage. We were met on our arrival by Roy, the owner, who was extremely friendly and helpful, giving us a full rundown on the facilities and advice on what to do and see during our stay. The 2 bedroomed cottage is very comfortable and clean, serviced every day, and boasts a beautiful garden - an excellent place to sit outside and enjoy breakfast at the start of the day. For those who enjoy eating out there is a wide variety of excellent restaurants within easy walking distance, but the kitchen is fully equipped for those who prefer to eat in. Car parking is secure, and the cottage is conveniently located within easy driving distance of all the local attractions. I have no hesitation in recommending Belvedere cottages and certainly hope to be able to stay there again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Niel,

Not only was your response positive but it is heartwarming to note that you picked up on so many details regarding our accommodation and the eating and entertainment areas on our doorstep.

It was a very great pleasure to have your patronage and we most definately look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Excellent accommodation. Arrived early in the morning (8am) on an overnight bus and went straight on a tour of Addo with Mosaic Tours, but left our bags with the owner (Roy) of Belvedere as the previous guests were still in the room. On our early evening return we checked in for our one night stay.

Entrance was through your own remote control door garage, in which a secure door led to the lounge/kitchen room. This leads to the very nice bedroom with access to a nice bathroom via what appears to be one pair of the doors of a fitted wardrobe. There was also a private terrace, that unfortunately we didn't get to use as there was quite a storm on the night we were there. Overall this was more like a very spacious one bedroom apartment.

Although there was no breakfast included, there was a small kitchen available with a microwave and toaster and there is a shop two minutes walk down the road. Wine could also be ordered to be waiting for you on your arrival.

This accommodation was in nice residential type area, five minute walk to a few nice restaurants.

We didn't get to see much of the owner as we were only in Port Elizabeth for one night, he was very friendly and even drove us to the nearby restaurants and gave us a run down each of them.

Although there was free wifi, we struggled to get much joy with this, but I think this may have been due to the heavy storms on the evening we were there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereC, Manager at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
The Eastern Cape offers fantastic opportunities to view game in a malaria free area. I am delighted to know that you had a positive experience and made use of the wonderful opportunities to view Africa at its best. Thank you for the amazing review and we hope to see you back in Port Elizabeth in the future.
Friendly regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Flight timings reluctantly forced us to overnight in PE, but in the end we regretted not staying longer! Roy is an absolute treasure and will make any stay a pleasure. The cottage is delightful & homely with a pretty garden. There are some excellent restaurants within (safe) walking distance, including a fabulous place for breakfast just a short stroll from the cottage. Roy kindly organised a pizza delivery for us upon arrival. For those who prefer to self-cater the kitchen is fully equipped. If passing through PE again I would make an effort to stay a night or two just to enjoy Belvedere Cottages again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ngoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereC, Owner at Belvedere Cottages & B&B, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Great to hear from you. So good to know that you enjoyed your time in Port Elizabeth. The friendly city of South Africa are full of surprises.
Warm regards,

Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.2 mi away
GuestHouse on Irvine
GuestHouse on Irvine
#47 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zareba B&B Guesthouse
Zareba B&B Guesthouse
#46 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lavender Terrace B&B
Lavender Terrace B&B
#6 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast
St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast
#67 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
4.1 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cape Flame Guest House
Cape Flame Guest House
#22 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Cottages & B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Cottages & B&B

Property: Belvedere Cottages & B&B
Address: 15 Edward Street | Richmond Hill, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Belvedere Cottages & B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation is located on popular Richmond Hill and Park Drive, Port Elizabeth. We are literally around the corner from some of Port Elizabeth's best known facilities and attractions. The cottages are self catering and offer affordable luxury. FREE WIRELESS INTERNET. Stylishly appointed, both properties offer bedrooms with private bathrooms, and each cottage has its own fully equipped kitchen. The high standard of comfort appeals to all types of guests- from romantic honeymoon couples to corporate travellers & relocation, alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belvedere Cottages & B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing