We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Road Guest House
Ranked #28 of 225 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The guest house was excellent in all quality of services with the owners being as friendly and helpful beyond all expecations.It is a seven minute ride from the airport and about a ten miniute drive from Walmer shopping mall and totally traffic free and a nice quiet area.It is a must go if in PE!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
20
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Thanks so much to our hosts at River Road Guest House for "going the extra mile" for us!! Even though we only had the pleasure of staying one night with them we felt like friends and will definately be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

After a very dissapointing first night of stay in PE at a nearby hotel, our first task for the day was to ensure that we had good, clean accomodation for the rest of our stay. We were delighted with the central location of the guesthouse, friendliness and helpfulness of the owners, Madeleine and Fraser, the obvious cleanliness of the rooms, reasonable rates, as well as the hairdryer, bar fridge, tea and coffee, DSTV, ironing board and iron, that were nice additions- all of which helped make the rest of our stay in PE a very pleasant one. A continental breakfast is on offer although some people might prefer an English breakfast. I highly recommend River Road Guest House to anyone looking for a home away from home in PE and it will certainly be our accomodation of choice when we visit PE in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HancT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Port Elizabeth was the last stop of my little cycling adventure from Cape Town. The owners ensured that I was well taken care of upon my arrival. Seeing as I was flying back to Cape Town, I needed to get a box to pack my bicycle in. The owners phoned around to find out which bicycle shop did have a box available and promptly went to fetch it once one was found. When it came to packing my bicycle I was helped in that respect too. Even more so, they ensured I got to the airport on time. The owners bent over backwards (and then some) to help me. I can highly recommend anyone to stay at the River Road Guest House. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Centrally located, clean and comfortable and good value for money. We stayed one night with our cousin from Italy. We enjoyed safe parking and DSTV. Although the owners were overseas during our stay, Yvonne their helpful 'stand-in' took good care of our needs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_Bron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.4 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
284 reviews
1.0 mi away
A&A Guesthouse
A&A Guesthouse
#18 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
90 reviews
1.2 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Millard Crescent
Millard Crescent
#7 of 43 in Summerstrand
109 reviews
7.9 mi away
Le Blue Guesthouse
Le Blue Guesthouse
#19 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amani Guest Lodge
Amani Guest Lodge
#4 of 70 in Port Elizabeth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Road Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Road Guest House

Property: River Road Guest House
Address: 44 River Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — River Road Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Road Guest House is a three star graded guest house in Walmer, Port Elizabeth with bed and breakfast accommodation. We are AA highly recommended and are members of Port Elizabeth Metro Bed and Breakfast Association and Nelson Mandela Bay Tourism.Our guest house is situated close to airport, beachfront, restaurants, major shopping centres, hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your River Road Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing