We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Road Guest House
Ranked #27 of 229 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East London, South Africa
1 review
“Value and comfort”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The rooms were clean and tasteful. The location is very central in a nice neighborhood. Airport is only 5 min away. I prefer egg and toast to the continental breakfast, but still definitely will be staying over again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
21
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great place to stay, perfect position, friendly owners and an all round nice BB. I highly recommend it and will go back for sure. Lots of nice restaurant in close proximity which adds to the convenience of the BB.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Comfortable bed, neat, friendly and felt very welcome! Has all the comforts you need! Safe parking, lovely breakfast.
Loved the bathroom :) I can honestly recommend anyone to stay here and know they will agree.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gaetano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Always ready to help,It feels like home away from Home! I often travel and I enjoy Port Elizabeth because of River Road Guest House I wouldn't stay anywhere else! I would recommend them to everyone!!!


  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Loved everything about the place. I needed the sleep and that beds were awesome for my "beauty sleep". Thank you for a "lekker" stay. We would definitely come to your Guesthouse again. Thank you again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Lovely place and restfull. The breakfast can maybe have a warm breakfast as well, example baked or schrumbled eggs. The rest lovely, lovely no complains. Will sugested to anybody, already have to my people

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2013

River Road Guest House is my first choice in Port Elizabeth. My home from home. I visit PE at least four times a year and like the clean fresh rooms and the the excellent service from Frazer and Madelein.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jimmy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.8 mi away
La Mer Guesthouse
La Mer Guesthouse
#49 of 229 in Port Elizabeth
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lemon Tree Lane
Lemon Tree Lane
#8 of 229 in Port Elizabeth
170 reviews
1.0 mi away
A&A Guesthouse
A&A Guesthouse
#23 of 229 in Port Elizabeth
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Conifer Beach House
Conifer Beach House
#5 of 229 in Port Elizabeth
213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#2 of 229 in Port Elizabeth
537 reviews
7.9 mi away
Le Blue Guesthouse
Le Blue Guesthouse
#19 of 229 in Port Elizabeth
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Road Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Road Guest House

Property: River Road Guest House
Address: 44 River Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — River Road Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Road Guest House is a three star graded guest house in Walmer, Port Elizabeth with bed and breakfast accommodation. We are AA highly recommended and are members of Port Elizabeth Metro Bed and Breakfast Association and Nelson Mandela Bay Tourism.Our guest house is situated close to airport, beachfront, restaurants, major shopping centres, hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your River Road Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing