We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a life time amazing”

Kwantu Private Game Reserve - Day Visits
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Once in a life time amazing”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

The Kwantu elephant sanctuary elephant rides was absolutely out of this world, on arriving we met tandai the lead guide we were left stunned in the manner the 4 elephants were trained as to the manner in which they salutes us, the rides with each of the guides was amazing as they educated us about the elephants , while you are riding you oversee game which is nature at is purist, a real 5 star experience , everyone's warm and friendly, IF YOu HAvent Been to Kwantu nature reserve and Kwantu elephant sanctuary YOU MIsSING OUT

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Saloojee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    16
    3
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just do it!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Having had scary experiences with elephants a few years ago, i've always since avoided them. I reached kwantu elephant sanctuary still harbouring those memories, and intended at most to merely watch them at a distance. That changed dramatically. I was amazed at the training and control that was effected on the elephants at the sanctuary, and at their immediate response to the instructors command. The guides were really professional and friendly too, willing and knowledgeable. Before i knew it, i was on the elephant, having an elephant ride through the amazing terrain, and wondering to myself whether i'm dreaming or not. Really was fascinating. The ride through the bush with other animals around just made it even better. And Then came d feeding part! Started of reluctantly, thinking that my entire arm may be taken off, and then realised its quite fun and just went on and on.. Something i will never forget!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mys888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best 8 weeks of my life”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I have spent 8 weeks volunteering at Kwantu and it has really been the best 8 weeks of my life. It is such an incredible environment to work in. The rangers who you work alongside are so supportive and you really see the difference that you make over your stay whilst learning so much about conservation in South Africa. The accommodation is always clean and the food is great, all dietary requirements are well catered for. I am already planning my return trip and would definitely recommend volunteering at the reserve.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Imogen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not quite what it says”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

It was lovely to spend some time with these truly amazing and beautiful animals. The staff are dedicated and cannot be faulted but do not expect to be going to see elephants in their natural habitat. It is a farm with some tame elephants and a few antelope that you get to see on your very short walk. Kwantu claims to be an elephant sanctuary but that is stretching the use of the word quite a bit. They have 4 elephants that they acquired as babies; the story is that it was to save them from an organised cull. This may be true but from the moment the elephants arrived they have been trained to be a tourist attraction. That said, they seem to be very happy and get taken out on long walks twice a day. In terms of value for money for an elephant ride, their nearest competitor is a bit more expensive but you get much longer with the ellies. All that said, they need your visit to make sure that the elephants continue to be looked after well. The elephant interaction is a very good price so if I am back in the Cape, I will go back but will not be talked into the ride.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnKirkpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pully, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice elephant ride”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Very nice elephant ride. People of Kwantu Santuary are very nice. Very very nice moment, perhaps a little to short for me.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kwantu Private Game Reserve - Day Visits also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Kwantu Private Game Reserve - Day Visits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing