We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My weekend at Cape Flame Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Flame Guest House
Ranked #23 of 223 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“My weekend at Cape Flame Guest House”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I had a magnifcent stay at this stylish guest house. Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were luxurious and comfortable, delicious meals were served for breakfast and dinner we requested. The guesthouse is excellently located within walking distance from the beach and the Boardwalk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    49
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
42
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A real top class venue started off with a friendly reception, informative welcome and introduction to a spacious, neat and comfortable suite. The lounge and breakfast room facilities are superb the service excellent and quality of food great. Secure parking and security provisions are comforting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Beautiful rooms-most comfortable & tastefully decorated. Friendly staff who were always very eager to assist. Excellent location - I walked to the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Centre as well as the beach simply because both were on my doorstep - I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Room 4's balcony is the size of a room on its own - lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LodgeonMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was staying at this establishment for a week whilst attending lectures at NMMU. I emailed and asked how the rooms were equiped so that I may make my own dinners and was promptly and friendly answered that everything is there for my convenience. Shortly after making my reservation through Booking.com I received a phone call (that went to voicemail) that everything is confirmed and taken care of for my stay.
Breakfasts were delectable and prompt. Service was always friendly. I messed up with the safe and locked some valuables inside without altering the pin. I really do mean valuables. I reported this to the front desk and it was sorted (and everything still untouched!) when I came back from a day of classes.
Highly recommended. The bathroom has underfloor heating, the rooms are cleaned everyday back to their immaculate state and parking is safe and convenient. It is close enough to the beach to walk, but far enough to be quiet and tranquill.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Be specific if you want a view as some of the rooms do not have this. Some are on the second floor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We reserved the last room available once we had arrived in Port Elizabeth, as there was a sports fixture on. The guesthouse looks very nice and up to the 4* symbol. However, once going inside we found the housekeeping wasn't up to scratch, the carpets needed cleaning, the bath toiletries in the bathroom were not labelled,so one didn't know whether they were soap, shampoo or cream.
However, the staff were extremely pleasant and we had a very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lkumral, General Manager at Cape Flame Guest House, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Lea, Thank you for the positive critique received! At the time of your stay we were in the process of preparing Cape Flame for our planned renovation and maintenance program. Suffice to say we’ve replaced some and thoroughly industrially cleaned the other and all is looking as good as new again! We’ve also moved across to a new service provider for our bathroom amenities. Hopefully when we see you again you will be very pleasantly surprised! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Ronel, Tessa and team were excellent and took great care of us. They even prepared breakfast at 4am for us on the morning of the Ironman race we were participating in and the additional fruitbars, powerades and water placed free of charge in our rooms were are really thoughtful touches- such being the consistent care and nice attention to details that have kept us happy and we definitely recommend them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerominoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This lovely Guest house has a charm. Professional and friendly staff, clean rooms with perfect natural light, made my African experience even more enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building has lovely balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.6 mi away
Lavender Terrace B&B
Lavender Terrace B&B
#5 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.6 mi away
Belvedere Cottages & B&B
Belvedere Cottages & B&B
#32 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.5 mi away
First Avenue Guesthouse
First Avenue Guesthouse
#8 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Lemon Tree Lane
Lemon Tree Lane
#10 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Algoa Guest House
Algoa Guest House
#5 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.7 mi away
GuestHouse on Irvine
GuestHouse on Irvine
#47 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Flame Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Flame Guest House

Property: Cape Flame Guest House
Address: 8 7th Avenue | SUMMERSTRAND Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Flame Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cape Flame Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing