We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and big rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Flame Guest House
Ranked #22 of 225 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bad Salzschlirf, Germany
1 review
“Very comfortable and big rooms”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Thank you so much for the comfortable stay. We had two big double rooms and enjoyed a great breakfast, helpful and friendly staff.The restaurants are not far away. The parking area is closed and we had free Wireless.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    53
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
43
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bad Salzschlirf, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have been one night in this guesthouse and were 2 couples. We had two doublerooms. The rooms are clean and big and the bathroom has even a window. The parking area is closed and we could even walk for dinner. The breakfast was very good and the staff is really friendly and helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I had a magnifcent stay at this stylish guest house. Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were luxurious and comfortable, delicious meals were served for breakfast and dinner we requested. The guesthouse is excellently located within walking distance from the beach and the Boardwalk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A real top class venue started off with a friendly reception, informative welcome and introduction to a spacious, neat and comfortable suite. The lounge and breakfast room facilities are superb the service excellent and quality of food great. Secure parking and security provisions are comforting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Beautiful rooms-most comfortable & tastefully decorated. Friendly staff who were always very eager to assist. Excellent location - I walked to the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Centre as well as the beach simply because both were on my doorstep - I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Room 4's balcony is the size of a room on its own - lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LodgeonMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was staying at this establishment for a week whilst attending lectures at NMMU. I emailed and asked how the rooms were equiped so that I may make my own dinners and was promptly and friendly answered that everything is there for my convenience. Shortly after making my reservation through Booking.com I received a phone call (that went to voicemail) that everything is confirmed and taken care of for my stay.
Breakfasts were delectable and prompt. Service was always friendly. I messed up with the safe and locked some valuables inside without altering the pin. I really do mean valuables. I reported this to the front desk and it was sorted (and everything still untouched!) when I came back from a day of classes.
Highly recommended. The bathroom has underfloor heating, the rooms are cleaned everyday back to their immaculate state and parking is safe and convenient. It is close enough to the beach to walk, but far enough to be quiet and tranquill.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Be specific if you want a view as some of the rooms do not have this. Some are on the second floor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We reserved the last room available once we had arrived in Port Elizabeth, as there was a sports fixture on. The guesthouse looks very nice and up to the 4* symbol. However, once going inside we found the housekeeping wasn't up to scratch, the carpets needed cleaning, the bath toiletries in the bathroom were not labelled,so one didn't know whether they were soap, shampoo or cream.
However, the staff were extremely pleasant and we had a very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lkumral, General Manager at Cape Flame Guest House, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Lea, Thank you for the positive critique received! At the time of your stay we were in the process of preparing Cape Flame for our planned renovation and maintenance program. Suffice to say we’ve replaced some and thoroughly industrially cleaned the other and all is looking as good as new again! We’ve also moved across to a new service provider for our bathroom amenities. Hopefully when we see you again you will be very pleasantly surprised! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.5 mi away
First Avenue Guesthouse
First Avenue Guesthouse
#7 of 43 in Summerstrand
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 43 in Summerstrand
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Algoa Guest House
Algoa Guest House
#5 of 43 in Summerstrand
179 reviews
1.5 mi away
Conifer Beach House
Conifer Beach House
#6 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carslogie House
Carslogie House
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Flame Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Flame Guest House

Property: Cape Flame Guest House
Address: 8 7th Avenue | SUMMERSTRAND Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Flame Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cape Flame Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing