We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre
Ranked #46 of 232 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a pleasant stay at Lodge on Main. It is well situated near shops and other amenities. We like to know that our vehicle is safe and all guests can park vehicles inside the grounds.We had to however fetch toilet paper and also feel that the cooking of eggs can be given some attention. Our eggs were rock hard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosemarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

The place is nice and secure. However they have limited or very tight parking (as they had a few trailers parked). The room was very big and well decorated and generally clean but the two large sofas could do with a clean.

The bathroom was nice but but had loose fittings in the shower. However the sink and bath tub were very nice.

Breakfast the next morning was a little hit and miss for vegetarians. They make sausages, bacon and omelettes to order and have mushroom, tomato and beans as sides. As veggies we went for the sides.. Button mushrooms (lacking seasoning), small portion of beans and tomato a little soggy and cold. As it's cooked to order its a little slow which is not an issue if it's served hot (unfortunately it wasn't for us). The rest of the self service breakfast was limited with bread, fruit, cereal and filter coffee although it was all fresh.

The service was very good throughout our stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank VeggieLondoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a perfect weekend stay. Rooms were comfortable, staff were friendly and the hotel is perfectly situated in the beautiful area of Walmer. Lots of lovely little restaurants, tea rooms and nice shops. Only a 10 minute drive to the beach. Best value in PE!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Not only did I use the guest house for a workshop I also stayed there for a week. The venue was nice, but the best part of this guest house is the people working there. They were all kind, welcoming and very attentive. Great Job guys!! Also, thank you Candice and KIdwell for all your help :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Crystalkleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed during the week at Lodge on Main. Except for expensive price we had to pay for room only booking, everything else was terrible. Our room was dirty with a smelly taste and the bathroom was awful, with no toilet paper nor towels. Called room service, but these tell us it's a self help guest house. Tried the breakfast the next morning as we have to wait for an appointment, but this were even worst. The cereal was old, the milk sour and I even got hair in my food. Best of all I ordered scramble eggs with a cockroach in it !!!

Room Tip: If you like dirty rooms and old food, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Centrino583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sisleya54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
18.6 mi away
The Garden Lodge Guest House
3.2 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Murphys
Murphys
#2 of 4 in Beachview
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
54 reviews
1.9 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#22 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre

Address: 188 Main Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £51 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning Four star Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre in Walmer Port Elizabeth is the logical choice for your conference accommodation and function bookings and there are many reasons why. This boutique hotel style guest house is now also Port Elizabeth's first class, first choice function venue. The sincere passion and invested interest from the owners is visible in every detail and care that's been taken to turn the establishment into what it is today! Just a few of these carefully thought out renovations include; a stylish bar and function lounge, a more spacious dining area, a warm and welcoming reception lounge, further secure parking space, a wheelchair ramp and bathroom for conference delegate universal accessibility in mind. The modern conference venue can seat 15 in the boardroom and 30 in the main meeting room. Boardroom and meeting room are separated by shutter doors and when combined the venue is suitable for 45 delegates cinema style. (See conference configuration table) The meeting rooms are carpeted for warmth in winter and have air-conditioning for summer months. From the moment you enter the door you'll appreciate the warm welcome, friendly and professional staff, and during your stay you are sure to notice the attention to detail, personal touch and care taken to meet all your business or leisure travel needs and requirements. Right down to the sunblock curtaining with your ultimate sleeping comfort in mind. There are nine stylish bedrooms that have specifically been named after the breath-taking tree paintings featured in the room. All are equipped with flat screen tv's and individually controlled dstv (hospitality bouquet channel selections,) tea and coffee stations, ceiling fans and bedside radio alarm clocks. Some rooms have private balconies while two overlook the picturesque back garden. Rooms 7 and 8 can be combined for a family or group of four and consists of 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms, patio and a fully equipped kitchen onto cosy lounge/tv room. This family cottage can be booked on either a bed and breakfast or self-catering option and is absolutely ideal for long stays/short term rentals. Regrettably not pet friendly. Please enquire for long stay special rates. The lodge is able to sleep 18 people in double and twin rooms Come and indulge in the luxury of this magnificent establishment by booking your next cocktail party, year-end function, product launch, small intimate wedding, awards evenings, bridal or baby shower with us today and prepare to be impressed! The elegant and trendy new bar with heart-warming wood fireplace and function venue which flows onto an undercover patio overlooking lush gardens and rim flow pool which also happens to be weather protected by canvas drop-blinds will bedazzle you and your special guests at your next special occasion! The guest house is also ideally located close to all main shopping centre's, Walmer Country Club golf course, health spa's such as Shambala, and is surrounded by popular bistros, coffee shops, and restaurants like the Pop Shoppe and Brioche with mouth-watering cuisine within walking distance from the lodge when you feel like a night out on the town there are also popular nightclubs nearby. Lodge on Main guests only ever leave with a smile wishing to return. We look forward to adding you to our very own Lodge on Main special guests family tree! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing