We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donkin Reserve”

Donkin Heritage Trail
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
658 reviews
424 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Donkin Reserve”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We spent time looking around the Donkin reserve, the mosaic on the floor, is amazing, and the art work people going around the wall is eye catching, the pyramid is lovely, and the work being done is making the area very child friendly, the day we went there was a school party going around and watching the kids really enjoying the area, makes it very worth while.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank malc1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“NOT ALWAYS SAFE, SHOULD POSSIBLY GO IN A LARGER GROUP”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

As guest house owners we unfortunately have to advise people not to do the Heritage Trail. There have been incidents of overseas visitors being mugged. It does have potential but the safety of people walking this trail has to be guaranteed. Unfortunately this is not emanating from our Municipal Tourism Department.

If you do it then be very aware of who are around you.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank StephenXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Serves only to highlight how run down PE is”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

While history buffs may find the walk interesting, anyone else will be shocked at how run down and depressing the centre of PE is. I would estimate that at least half the buildings in the city centre are derelict or in a poor state of repair and there genuinely aren't any memorable sights or attractions. That the guidebook contains warnings against visiting some of the sights on foot or alone, speaks volumes.

Save yourself a wasted half day and head out into the beautiful surrounding countryside for a far more enjoyable walk.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank RMJM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Only Partially walkable”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed doing this trail and seeing all the historical buildings. You can purchase a booklet from the tourist center of the town, complete with a map and a description of each site; however, at 30 rand it is a huge rip off, so if you do some research online, you might be able to find a map online. The booklet itself tells you that there are certain parts that are not advisable to walk, but drive. But the trail offers wonderful views of not only the buildings, but Nelson Mandela Bay, St. George's Park, etc.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Ideal for history buffs”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The Donkin Heritage Trail is the best way to explore the historic part of Port Elizabeth. Because I live in PE I often head into this part of town with my camera and do parts of the trail. Its about 5km in total so can be done quite easily in half a day if you put time aside to go into some of the buildings and attractions.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donkin Heritage Trail also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Donkin Heritage Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing