We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History Lesson” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South End Museum

South End Museum
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“History Lesson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is our first trip to P.E. so we were interested in the history of the area. We enjoyed South End Museum because it gave us insight into what people had to endure during this very sad period in history. It answered many questions, but left us with more unanswered questions. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank EILEEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A walk down memory lane”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I was impressed by the huge murals which are actually black and white photographs which had been enlarged. This gives one a real feeling of what life in old South End must have been like. It also highlights the history of our country in a nutshell.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CDonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real community museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Set in one of the few houses left after the notorious apartheid district clearances, this is a genuine community-based museum run by volunteers. It tries to show the life and times of the South End district, once a multi-racial community reduced to a waste-land. The volunteer helpers are very friendly and helpful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rainsborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“South End Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

As a museum depicting life as it was in South End before apartheid it is excellent and as a born and bred Port Elizabethan I found it totally absorbing . This was enhanced by friendly and knowledgeable staff

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Level Contributor
77 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A real eye opener!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

A little gem of a museum showing the life and the layout of the old south end of Port Elizabeth, before the forced removal of the coloured residents to make way for the new "whites only" area. The upstairs houses a "Hall of Fame" of prominent sporting achievements from the Port Elizabeth coloured community

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brettb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South End Museum also viewed

 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to South End Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing