We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious cakes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bocadillos Bakery and Restaurant

Bocadillos Bakery and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$12
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, European, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Delicious cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I've been to Bocadillos twice and both times was met by friendly, relaxed service and a great range of delicious cakes. Their pancakes were nicely presented and the carrot cake came as an enormous wedge of a serving. The place is pricey compared to nearby bakeries, but the professional table service justifies this mark-up in my opinion. The fresh fruit juices are yummy too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hittheroadjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    57
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overrated and expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

This place is beautifully decorated and the food is well presented, but it is really expensive, especially for Port Elizabeth. I don't mind paying, but then it must be descent. For example take away slice of pecan nut tart, R32 for a tiny slice. There is just no comparison with other bakery/deli's like Fournos in Joburg.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueduP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kroonstad
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quick bite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Given the great reviews of Bocadillos we made an effort to find out what the fuss is about. I found a fly fussing around me, the waitress was totally ignorant of the fly and for that matter allmost ignorant of the goings-on in the cafe. The pizza was good and the coffee and drinks served as expected from a eatery.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rooihoogte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Pizza ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

On holiday in Port Elizabeth and were advised to try Bocadilos and were very pleased we did. 4 of us had pizzas and we all agreed they were the best Pizza we have ever had and very good value for money. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We visited again and were equally impressed. Well done Bocadilos!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartG21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOREHAM STREET
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

I had to ask for a waiter to come to our table which was outside in the smoking area. We are not smokers but it was a very hot day and there was a pleasant breeze in that area, inside was just too hot and the tables outside at the front were all occupied.

When the owner / manager realised that we had had a problem he assured us that a waiter would come immediately. Thereafter the owner / manager constantly checked that all was well. Good customer relations. We both had a very pleasant curried chicken salad, followed by raspberry roulade. Both of which I would recommend. We will return!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PENELOPE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bocadillos Bakery and Restaurant also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Bocadillos Bakery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing