We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience with Bethel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shamwari Game Reserve

Shamwari Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please visit the official Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges page on TripAdvisor for more info, images, video & slideshow. Search "Shamwari Game Reserve lodges".Shamwari is the best private game reserve situated in the malaria free Eastern Cape,South Africa.This privately owned 25 000 hectares of prime natural terrain has received numerous international awards.Shamwari is an exploration of nature with close encounters of free roaming wildlife and the coveted big five with a choice of unique luxury lodges, an exclusive private villa and the adventurous Explorer Camp.Luxury accommodation is offered in 7 different game lodges at Shamwari Game Reserve, all of which are 5 Star graded. Choose a game lodge that perfectly compliments your ideal African experience
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience with Bethel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Shamwari provides a great experience , getting you close to the animals. Bethan, our guide, was excellent and very experienced. We only had one night there (should do 2 nights at least), so he tried to show us all the big 5. Accommodation at Eagles Crag is very good, although in need of maintenance.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MadamkMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen P, Manager at Shamwari Game Reserve, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your review and your comments related to Eagles Crag. We also found that generally our clients are staying for two nights or longer. This is ideal as it would fully incorporate four game drives, an option to experience our health spa, an option to do a game walk, visit our born free foundation or a visit our animal rehabilitation centre.

Thankfully the frequency of our clients seeing all the wild big five animals are very high at Shamwari and I trust you saw most of them during your recent stay. I will commend Bethual for this contribution to make your stay memorable.

I will also personally attend to your comments related to maintenance today and would like to apologise if it effected your stay.

Kind regards,

Gunther Strauss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    20
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent safari near the Garden route”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is the second time I have been to Shamwari. This time we stayed at Eagles Craq and it certainly lived up to our expectations. We had our own splunge-pool where we could look after elephants, and our fieldsguide was awesome. We saw all the big 5 more then once and had a great time. The food and staff are excellent, the spa is cheap and offer a high standard. I highly recommend Shamwari and Eagles Craq.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helentabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bassoues, France
Level Contributor
177 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fabulous Animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Large game reserve with the Born Free Foundation as a part of it. Several Lodges all of a very high standard. Only downside is that the fence runs alongside the busy N2 road and it is slightly like seeing animals in a zoo when you are near it. Otherwise the animals are well looked after and much photographed and do not seem to be bothered by the visitors.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
628 reviews
361 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Large number and variety of animals with first class accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We saw all of the Big Five except for Leopards but saw to cheetahs to make up for that. The operation is first class and we got to see the animals up close, my wife says too close!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big, wild and full of animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Quatermains is the way to go. Saw all the big 5 except buffalo. Do it. And here's to the character count police, so my review can get submitted.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CreativeLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shamwari Game Reserve also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 

Been to Shamwari Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing