We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Splash Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Splash Guest House
Ranked #35 of 223 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A lovely place to stay. Nice airy and bright rooms with comfortable beds. Very useful to have a decent sized mini fridge and hairdryer provided in the room although it would be useful to have a europe to SA adaptor provided as I hadn't come prepared for appliances which used european plugs.
Very convenient location opposite a small but useful shopping centre with restaurants and a supermarket and very close to the beach. Breakfast across the road was excellent and the cafe staff are very friendly. Loved the flexibility of the food coupons provided (anything up to the value of R40 which allows you to eat at any time of day). A little inconvenient for eating breakfast if you're up early as eating out takes longer than having breakfast on site but not a massive deal as coupons could be used at other times and the fridge allows you to make your own quick food. Would have been useful to have a couple of plates provided for this.
Very friendly and professional staff who are willing to give you as much help as they can. Owner James even offered to pick me up!
Rooms were functional and pleasant but not luxury but this didn't matter as I was spending the majority of my time out during the day. Very clean and pleasant bathrooms and lots of storage space. All wifi and television services were also good.
Only criticism is that the curtains were mostly white and very thin which meant they weren't particularly effective.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Aliciajauffret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    49
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
38
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed over the Christmas Holidays 2013 whilst visiting SA- We were 2 couples and we booked it last minute on booking.com. It is a very lovely boutique like place. The owner was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were divine- the other couple got one of the newer rooms with air con but we got one without which was not ideal but that was the only downside to the stay. You get vouchers for breakfast at the little shopping mall area- its called Kaffeine and the breakfast was superb!! The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable it you get about an hours free wifi in the evening which is great!The pool area is lovely and the beach is 5 minute walk across the road! Loved it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air conditioning next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Beautiful location and layout of the guest house, with rooms opening on an inner courtyard. Braai facility and swimming pool available. Breakfast at Caffeine bar (5 min walk), managed by the owner of the guest house (very nice guy). Very close to the beach and the bars/restaurants of Summerstrand. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Could definitely come back again, the stay was very nice. My partner and I loved the place especially because it is close to the beach and shops hence most convenient. James, the manager was very helpful in keeping our luggage safe because we arrived early in PE.

Room Tip: Splash guest is the best choose it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We booked the self-catering unit on a very short notice, which was no problem at all. The self-catering unit is rather spacious and the kitchen is nice, big and well equipped. The only flaw was the jammed sliding door.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank swissiecrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

You need nothing more than this place for a holiday or a business visit. Great price. Clean and comfortable.I would recommend this to anyone at any time. Centrally located no frills. Breakfast at a local place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank StephanFourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thanks guys. I'm glad you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great place to stay as 5 mins walk to beach in a quiet location and with friendly staff. Many thanks to the owner James and his family in making me feel very welcome on Xmas day when i was traveling solo and wondering what to do with myself on that day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank webbandwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thanks Andrew! It was a pleasure meeting you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa Tuscana
Villa Tuscana
#6 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
9.0 mi away
Le Blue Guesthouse
Le Blue Guesthouse
#18 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
5.2 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.6 mi away
Conifer Beach House
Conifer Beach House
#6 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Guest House

Property: Splash Guest House
Address: 53 Brighton Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Splash Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 400 metre walk from Port Elizabeth’s beachfront, Splash is a brand new guest house in the center of the golden mile, suitable for business or leisure travelers!Our beautiful rooms and facilities have: New en-Suite bathrooms with showersCrisp White Cotton Linen on King or Twin BedsDaily Servicing, Fresh Towels and SoapsBar Fridge, Tea, Coffee, Sugar, MilkFlat Screen Satellite TV, Free WIFIFantastic Breakfast at Kaffeine RestaurantTwo Bedroom Self Catering Suite AvailableBraai/Barbeque and Swimming PoolSecure Parking Behind Remote Gate ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Splash Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing