We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Court Kings Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Paxton Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelway Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No5 by Mantis(Summerstrand)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boardwalk Hotel(Summerstrand)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Singa Lodge(Summerstrand)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveller rating
289
239
106
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
239
106
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmikes kitchentsogo sunsea facing roomparking areaenjoyed my staykeep up the good workroom servicewalking distance to the beachreception staffexcellent staybusiness tripfriendly cityrooms are cleanpleasant staybreakfast was excellentclose to the airporthome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 684 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This grand 'ol dame of Port Elizabeth used to be called the President Hotel...in it's guise as a 'Garden Court' it offers guests modern and well appointed rooms with stunning views of the Algoa Bay.

The Garden Court Hotel is ideally located for walks along the beachfront and is close to the many restaurants on offer nearby. Try and get a sea facing room.

The rooms have two double beds, a shower/bath; safe; air conditioning. A lovely breakfast is served each morning and the staff were found to be very friendly and accommodating - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room as high as possible.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omegacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Lovely hotel with great views. Make sure you stay on the side with the sea views. Breakfasts are really great. Safe parking. Ask for a room with the aircon is working as they do seem to have a prob with the aircon.

Room Tip: Get sea facing the higher up the better. Also they do seem to have some air on trouble so check that it is working in your room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastachia D, Employee at Garden Court Kings Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your great reviews. We are extremely happy to hear that you have enjoued your stay at the hotel.

We look forward to your future visits.

Yours in hospitality
Anastachia De Koning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed here in a 2x double bed room with 2 adults and 2 kids. The location was ideal for us, a block from the beach and with lots of restaurants nearby. There is a Spur connected to the hotel and a Nandos and gas station/store right next door. There are also a dozen other good dining options a short walk away. The walk along the beach is really terrific. There is a pretty nice new park and kids play area along the beach that was fun for the kids.

The room was typically small and a bit cramped for 4 but given it was one of the only available rooms in town that would cater for a family of 4 without requiring 2 separate rooms, we made do. I rated the room a bit lower because although we were 4 people the room was catered for 2 with only 2 cups, 2 towels, etc. We had to request more. There was also no hairdryer despite saying there was one. The drains on the tub/shower combo and sink were soooo slow that you ended up showering in a full bath by the time you were finished. The walls had chunks of plaster missing and the door didn't shut properly without an extra push.

The morning breakfast buffet that was included was great! Good variety and quality.

Room Tip: Great ocean view rooms for no additional cost if one is available.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank araknes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay over @ this Hotel. It was unfortunately too short, because we just needed a place to sleep over as we were passing through PE, however GCKB, definitely made a big impression on my husband and I for all the right reasons! :-). Very efficient, friendly and professional staff to take care of our needs regardless the nature. Breakfast was brilliant! I loved the fact that despite the hotel not offering their own suppers, there was quite an array of other popular restaurants/take out places literally a stone throw away, which proved very useful. The bonus for us was that the Proteas were also staying over @ the Hotel @ the same time as us and we were fortunate enough to get photos with Graeme Smith, AB De Villiers and Hasheem Amla!!! Yeh!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pryshendhree N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This hotel is modern and tastefully decorated. It's neat and clean. Friendly reception staff will attend to all requested needs. Our room had a spectacular sea view. The room is tastefully decorated with a comfortable bed. The flatscreen television includes some DSTV channels. The bath-shower combination is fitted with a workable design, which is more comfortable than other hotels. There's a safe in the room. There 's some restaurants close to the hotel. The noise levels from these areas interferes in the rooms. The room windows can't open in full. The windows aren't clean, making it difficult appreciating the sea views. Breakfast is early and the variety caters for most, but it's more or less the same each day. The breakfast needs a daily variety. The hotel don't serve lunch, nor dinner, but you can order in from Spur downstairs. There's sufficient parking for all guests. The hotel is walking distance to the beach, sea, restaurants. This is one of the best hotels and I will highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews