We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Court Kings Beach
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$118
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Paxton Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$99
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelway Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$168
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No5 by Mantis(Summerstrand)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boardwalk Hotel(Summerstrand)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
285
233
103
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
233
103
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmikes kitchentsogo sunsea facing roomparking areaenjoyed my staykeep up the good workroom servicewalking distance to the beachreception staffexcellent staybusiness tripfriendly cityrooms are cleanpleasant staybreakfast was excellentclose to the airporthome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
596 - 601 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. Got to the hotel at about 8pm. Check in was quick and painless. I asked if the room was upgraded as I am a president member on the Tsogo Sun frequent guest program. The room had been upgraded to a corner suite with a king size bed. It has a lounge with a full size bedroom and a very comfortable bathroom. The bathroom and bedroom look quite new, probably refurbished in the last two years or so. The furniture is fairly maintained and the rooms are quite clean. The only problem I came accross was the airconditioning and the plumbing in the bathroom. It was fairly nippy so I turned the aircon on high heat. After about half an hour the room was still cold. Housekeeping had a look at it and said it could not be fixed at that time. I asked for a heater which they said was being used by another room but they did offer me to change rooms. As I was quite settled in already I opted not to move. A few minutes later they sent up two blankets which was a nice touch. The shower gets water logged very quickly and when you open the shower door all the water spills over into the bathroom. Breakfast is a decent buffet spread. The adjoining Spur restaurant handles the room service. Food is below average and tasteless. I ordered the fish, I assume they are better at steak as they are actually a steakhouse. Other than that I found this hotel to be spectacular. Well done to the team!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a lovely hotel in an excellent location. We were given a sea view room on the top floor, the view of the ocean was amazing from here! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room itself was stylish and modern. The beds were so comfortable and the blockout curtains are the best part about staying at Southern Sun! On the downside, the bathroom was very small and the bath was leaking. This resulted in the entire floor of the bathroom being soaked after a 5 minute shower.

The breakfast was lovely with many options to choose from. The best part about this hotel is it's close proximity to the beach and restaurants.

Overall a wonderful relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryam23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastachia D, Manager at Garden Court Kings Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Good Day

Thank you very much for your commments nad feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

We look forward to your future visits.

Yours in Hospitality
Anastachia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the Gardens Court for one night before returning to Cape Town. Check In was quick and the staff were pleasant.The room was a good size and very clean. The double bed was very comfortable and also very clean. A large choice of TV channels, especially sport. Overlooking an amazing beach front and promenade and we had a nice stroll along the Sunday morning market just at the bottom of the road.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, especially the chef who cooked our eggs for breakfast as she had been very busy that morning as the hotel was practically full.
When we first arrived it seemed like we were staying in a large Travel Lodge but actually we really enjoyed it and would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: I should imagine rooms with a sea view are lovely, but we didn't spend much time looking out of the windows and otherwise all rooms seemed the same.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ushers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on a business trip to PE- nice check in experience, with friendly staff. Breakfast good quality buffet with reasonably choice built into the room rate. Close proximity to dining and the beach. Rooms spotlessly clean, full bouquet of supersport channels . Really good staff- will come stay here again if opportunity presents itself :)

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room for spectacular views of Algoa Bay
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ismail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Had a comfortable four days here.Checkin in staff were helpful .Vuyani and in particular Kaylin was very efficient and helpful in finding options on things to do in Port Elizabeth.Rooms as mentioned by others are in good shape and the housekeeping staff are doing a great job.
The only comment on the room is that the front doors of the rooms are difficult to shut for some reason and you really have to bang the door which disturbs the peace and quiet.
Nice breakfast and convienent location on the waterfront.Wish the wifi was free as in most other places.The hotel was full and the staff were really struggling but most still had a smile on their face!!
Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indian-travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews