We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Court Kings Beach
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

From the arrival to leaving the overall experience of this hotel was superb Check in staff super friendly and took time to detail hotel activities Room well presented and spotless Location ideal and close to airport Big plus is windows can be opened for fresh air Will go back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastachia D, PA at Garden Court Kings Beach, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Charles

Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

We look forward to your future visits.

Yours in hospitality
Anastachia De Koning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    186
    80
    27
    17
See reviews for
117
76
18
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I am very satisfied with the services rendered to me during my stay at the hotel of my choice, including the storing of my career exhibition goodies until later today when I return to PE, thanks for being so courteous.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Leon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastachia D, PA at Garden Court Kings Beach, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Leon

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

Looking forward to your future visits.

Yours in Hospitality
Anastachia De Koning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Staff was very friendly when greeted upon check in. I asked for a sea facing room which was high up and the check in clerk really went out of her way to assit me. The room's bathroom had not been renovated yet and it was tired and needs doing up. Dinner is not available but fortunately all the restaurants are nearby.
Breakfast was good and there is a varied selection on offer.
I would suggest this hotel for a family vacation as the beach is over the road.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastachia D, PA at Garden Court Kings Beach, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comments and feeback.

We look forward to your future visits.

Yours in hospitality
Anastachia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We opted for an overnight in PE and as I had stayed at this hotel before it was a first choice.
Staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms are good quality. We did initially think the first room we were given - a non smoking room - had been used by a smoker. They promptly gave us another room. However, it turned out that it was the A/C system which was bringing the smell of cigarette smoke into the room when it was first turned on. It very quickly cleared.

Although the hotel does very good breakfasts, it does not have a dinner menu and customers have to either use an franchise which is attached to the hotel or go out to eat. As there are restaurants within walking distance of the hotel we did not find this to be an inconvenience.

PE is a very friendly city, and the traffic appears to be better disciplined that in our area. The road systems are easy to follow, but I would certainly avoid the center of town as it's pretty congested.

We were tempted to stop there on our return journey, they have special rates at the weekend, but instead we opted to take an in land route home.

Room Tip: The front side rooms overlook the ocean and from the upper rooms at the back there is a view up to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastachia D, PA at Garden Court Kings Beach, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. We are pleased to announce that the hotel is currently busy with new development. Dinner is served 7 days a week, and we are also doing our own room service.

We look forward to your future visits.

Yours in hospotality
Anastachia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Garden Court is located close to the beach, within easy walking distance of the Boardwalk and other attractions. If our single night stay is any guide it's a good choice for a beachside stay in PE.

Our room, a clean and comfortable double, had a very modern bathroom with a large shower. Even though it lacked some of the finer touches you find at more highly rated hotels, it suited our needs perfectly for such a short stay.

Several dining options are attached (a steakhouse for one) but there are other good options reasonably close by and at the Boardwalk. The breakfast buffet was perfectly fine with enough choices to suit most tastes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Located very close to the seafront in Port Elizabeth. Huge hotel but very good service. Parking was a little difficult though. The view from our rooms were terrific and they were very comfortable. Everything was clean and service promt in rooms. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Port Elizabeth. I regret not staying here more than a night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajit9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King William's Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Excellent receiption Staff willing to assist perfect room with perfect view Good service at breakfast Housekeeping superb with ensuring the room is kept clean and refilling supplies and available when you phone them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.1 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Kings Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Kings Beach

Property: Garden Court Kings Beach
Address: La Roche Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Kings Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Elizabeth is a city that boasts leisure attractions and an active business centre. The Garden Court King's Beach hotel affords easy access to everything that this city has to offer. Within walking distance of the magnificent King's Beach Promenade, this affordable accommodation offering is the gateway to a world of fun. With 2km of white sand, a surfing spot, the MacArther's Baths and many other attractions, this Garden Court is an ideal leisure destination. Mike's Kitchen is opening at the hotel on 1 October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden Court Kings Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court King`s Beach Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing