We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great improvement!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Court Kings Beach
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago before the refurbishment and I thought I would be greeted by the same "old school" decor in the rooms.

I was pleasantly surprised by the modern looking reception area but I didn't want to raise my hopes high that the rooms would have gone through the same refurbishment. I did lose hope when I got out of the lift on the floor that I was to stay in. The carpets where the same old ones and the corridor seemed even narrower than than what I remembered.

My room, on the other hand was a pleasant sight to my eyes. The upgrade that it got made it feel like a totally different hotel.

A huge well done to whoever owns this place. I had a beautiful sleep and I really appreciate the friendliness of the staff who were on duty that day. I would definitely be pleased to be booked in here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Loyiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have been give a stinky smoker room. Ongoing disturbing refurbishment works. Not even a bar in the hotel but only automatic distributors.. Old ugly structure. Poor service during breakfast. Not a nice hall.. A slow wifii.. Definetely I don't suggest it..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Sadly disappointed with this hotel. From the less then mediocre breakfast buffet to the loud and obnoxious cleaning staff on our floor. The window tint in the rooms are peeling, the shower leaks, extractor fan non-existent.

The garage and night club just below the hotel attracted drunks and taxi drivers that shouted and screamed for most of the night.

People were performing wheel spins and revving their vehicles which kept us all awake the whole 4 evenings.

To say us, nor any of our family and friends will not be returning unless there is a SERIOUS overhaul, is an understatement.

You can often judge a place by the way international tourists feel and are treated. In this case I was embarrassed that this was one of their SA experiences.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Foody-doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I was very tired and did not have enough sleep and wanted some quiet time to really rest and have some good night sleep before the early morning the following day and there was a lot of noise (music) from

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Tshilidzi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I had an early check in after long flights and the excellent buffet breakfast was still on. Reception very polite, friendly and helpful. Room on the 10th floor very clean and bright. Super comfortable bed.
Unfortunately I checked out forgetting my jacket. Housekeeping had found it and kindly took it to the Post Office and couriered it back to my home address abroad. Outstanding.
Wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevoair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

First, Receptionists are good and they are welcoming. Room is up to standard but talking of airconditioner, its not good in the sense that, it needs a guest to stand up to switch it on nd off even if you in bed. Garden Court King's Beach is located in a good place. Friendliness with staff is the best

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This doesn't have to be a long review because it doesn't deserve it. Not sure what type of place other reviews have stayed if they give this property any stars. One star in my opinion is a gift. I will give them one compliment. The shower is a rain shower walk in. The staff isn't very effective nor helpful. I could almost overlook everything else if they made up for it in this department. They are overstaffed but under trained. The room smelled like mold, the whistling sound from the wind coming through the window keeps you up all night, the pillows were larger versions of airplane pillows, the sheets were something you would find in prison. I left my breakfast on the table because it just tasted horrible. They put so much oil on the eggs they just tasted weird. The iron they sent up looks like they've used it on rocks and burned my shirt. But hey! I am alive and didn't sleep on the street last night. I don't normally write harsh reviews, but I will avoid this place going forward. The Boardwalk and Blu both seem really nice. Try there unless you enjoy suffering.

Room Tip: Choose a room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianparsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastachia D, PA at Garden Court Kings Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Brian

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay at the hotel. I can assure you that this is not the service neither our standard. The matter will be addressed to avoid re-ocurring events.

Yours in hospitality
Anastachia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.7 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#12 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Kings Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Kings Beach

Address: La Roche Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £77 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Kings Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Elizabeth is a city that boasts leisure attractions and an active business centre. The Garden Court King's Beach hotel affords easy access to everything that this city has to offer. Within walking distance of the magnificent King's Beach Promenade, this affordable accommodation offering is the gateway to a world of fun. With 2km of white sand, a surfing spot, the MacArther's Baths and many other attractions, this Garden Court is an ideal leisure destination. Mike's Kitchen is opening at the hotel on 1 October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Kings Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court King`s Beach Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing