We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“General good impression”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brookes Hill Suites
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“General good impression”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment during March 2013. The apartment had been partially revamped, so overall impression was good; although it is evident that it is not a brand new hotel. Cupboard and doors still look dated. no extra length beds. Location is great as are the sea views.
Neighbours were noisy on the odd occasion.
Hotel's electricity rooms is close by; creates some undelying noise that never stops. My friend rather slept in the lounge than in the second bedroom.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Can be recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed in apartment 121.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edi027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    29
    24
    14
    12
See reviews for
23
35
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

myself and wife stayed there for a long wekend, nice a centrally located, we had a sea view with a door opening onto a grassed area. the beach is within easy walking distance, as are a few restaurants. breakfast was included which was ample and of good quality and variety. the rooms were a bit dated but clean and functional. we'd happily go back again

Room Tip: check for a room for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We chose Brookes Hill because we had good memories of our visit there 12 years ago. Also, my husband stayed there several times whilst working in Port Elizabeth.

Check in was friendly and efficient and we were pleased to be given the same room that we stayed in previously. Great views and in a good position. However, the bathroom had obviously not been cleaned. The phone was unplugged so a trip to reception was needed to pont this out. Within 2 minutes someone came to clean it and apologies were made. We found the room to be in much need of some TLC. There were stains on the carpet and grime around the skirting. The settee was really dirty.

The breakfast was good, and the restaurant provided simple but well-cooked meals in the evenings Staff were friendly and helpful. Connecting through wifi was impossible. I would say that the hotel has a management problem and is in need of investment to bring the rooms to an acceptable standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Elizabeth hotels

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The room was nice, however we were given a twin room. The bathroom needs a serious revamp though as it was old, brown and cracked. The wifi in the hotel is terrible and you have to pay an awful lot for just half an hour. The location of the hotel is lovely though and we enjoyed walking along the beach front. The breakfast wasn't much to shout about either. Overall the location made the hotel but the hotel is out of date.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Beautiful views and prime position close to the swimming beaches. The rooms need attention though. The bathroom in the unit 142 was irritating to use. Showering while standing in the bath is not ideal and everything is wet at the end of a shower. You cannot open the window in the bathroom unless you want to have a conversation with other guests in the corridor outside while using the shower.
This gives a feel of a timeshare resort that suffers a 1% decline per week and a .5% clean.At first glance it looks clean enough but furnishings need to be cleaned properly or upgraded.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eugeneduplessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We were disappointed. The rooms were grubby and smelt of smoke. The receptionist was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Brookes Hill suites had o good deal for us, we got a nice spacious room, the view and location were very good, but... The carpet floor was extremely dirty!! Cleaness is not a priority there. Entire hotel needs a improvement.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.2 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookes Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookes Hill Suites

Property: Brookes Hill Suites
Address: Lower Brookes Hill Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookes Hill Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brookes Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookes Hill Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing