We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brookes Hill Suites
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the stay. The room was spacious, clean and almost everything we needed taking into account that is not a 5 star establishment. The view and location is also perfect. We enjoyed the breakfast served every morning. Couple of things detracted though. Our room had a couple of cockroaches the size of small rodents. The breakfast was good but, when certain stuff run out it is not replaced. There weren't a two point plug in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faniefiets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    29
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
23
37
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night in December 2013. This hotel is an exceptional value. We arrived to find that the rooms we were allocated were not big enough for our families, and they immediately accommodated us with new rooms. The service was extremely friendly, helpful and professional. We were very happy with the location, and the kids enjoyed the pool. The breakfast was fine, but could have been better. Nonetheless, for what we paid, we felt that this hotel was a great find!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I would def recommend this hotel.
It is in an ideal location minutes walk to the broadwalk and half a minute walk to ocean basket and other restaurants in the complex.
It is right opposite mcarthurs beach so can easily walk to kings beach or hobie.
Hotel very clean, brilliant views from hotel balcony as up on hill.
Breakfast is a good quality of food with a wide variation.
Pool is lovely and clean with brilliant views of beach.
And for all you cat lovers theres a ginger cat called ginger who resides in the hotel !
Next time I go to Port Elizabeth I will not hesitate to book into this hotel for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anlou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Brookes Hill is a hotel and apartment complex. I would expect that everyone should have to comply to the same rules and standards. It is part of an upmarket hotel complex and their name is attached to this - so they should care!

On the positive side...It has an amazing view and great location close to a variety of amenities including restaurants, the beach and shopping. It has a beautiful pool and lovely BBQ area.

We rented from one of the owners and paid R1200.00 ($120) per night and stayed for two nights. I have stayed here on 3 other occasions. We were advised a few days before arrival that our room was changed. On arrival the owner was not there to receive us, because she was playing 'Bridge' - she send the cleaning lady. This should've been a sign. The room was neat, but NOT clean. For example, the shower had long hairs clinging to the tiles. Floors had dirt on it. Things old and broken. We were not provided with any additional linen for the sleeper coach. We checked the closets and found some bedding. It was filthy. The next morning we requested clean linen - the cleaning came in to provide us with clean linen.

The WiFi is almost always off and has a very poor signal. For this location and being in Port Elizabeth I expected much better quality for this kind of money. My experience in Cape Town was superior compared to this one AND at a much better rate.

I would not recommend this to visitors, unless there is an improvement in the cleanliness of the private apartments.

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brookeshill, General Manager at Brookes Hill Suites, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Good morning

This review is for a private suite that is managed and run by a private owner and not by Brookes hill management and Brookes hill hotel. Brookes hill hotel does not have any control with regards to the cleanliness and standard of the interior of the unit.

Regards

Tonya Gorham
Brookes hill suites hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Elizabeth hotels

Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights from 25 - 26 December 2013. The rooms were nice and spacious and the location of the hotel was good.

We found the continental breakfast to be disappointing as there was a very small selection of items to choose from if you did not want to have the full English breakfast. Their fruit platter was practically empty and never refilled even though we did not arrive that late for breakfast and we had to ask both of mornings for cutlery as there never seemed to be a complete selection of cutlery for each place setting. We also did not get coffee one morning despite asking for it as there was only two staff members on duty and neither seemed willing to do it and kept checking to see if we were still sitting at our table. We eventually gave up and decided to go back to our room to make our own coffee.

This would definitely not be a good place to go for some quiet rest and relaxation as the place constantly seemed noisy with the amount of children running up and down the passages.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Having just spent the weekend at the Brookes Hill Suites I must say that although the suites are quite nice but could do with a re-vamp, but the biggest problem was the noise in the passages outside the suite was intolerable with children running up and down for most of the evening and the cleaning staff banging about at 6am. It was a pity because the suites are ideally situated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Wet stain on carpet, broken tile rail, cracked shower head holder, loose wires hanging from wall mounted tv, bird poo on balcony and the list goes on. Th emits disappointing was dirtiness of the place. My baby's white stockings were black and had bits of dirt stuck to it. Be weary of the promised facilities also because we were quoted R10 an hour to access the WiFi. The only benefit of this place is it's location!

Room Tip: Check your room thoroughly before accepting the keys. Ask for a sea facing unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fathimeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brookeshill, General Manager at Brookes Hill Suites, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Good morning

The unit above could have formed part of the private rental pool run by different owners at Brookes hill , and therefore would not have been up to the usual standard of Brookes hill suites hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.3 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#16 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookes Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookes Hill Suites

Property: Brookes Hill Suites
Address: Lower Brookes Hill Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookes Hill Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brookes Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookes Hill Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing