We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views but bland hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brookes Hill Suites
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Stayed one night in August to catch up with friends in PE while travelling along the garden route, and this was definately the least inspiring place that we stayed on the trip. It is in a great location in PE, close to dining and casino etc, and with excellent views. However, the rooms are very bland and a bit dated, the service was unenthusiatic and it overall had a bit of a depressing feel. For a convenient location it is fine, and probably OK value wise as it included parking and a decent breakfast. However not recommended if you're looking for somewhere special.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audreylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2009

We spent three nights here at the end of a trip along the Garden Route. Our arrival was marred by the fact that, although we had booked a non-smoking room, it was obvious that this rule had not been enforced with the previous occupants. However, a plug-in air freshener was quickly produced by the front desk staff and, from then on, our stay was faultless. The location, facing the beaches and close to the Boardwalk leisure and entertainment complex, is well away from the more industrial parts of the town, but still gives easy access to all major routes. The room was well equipped, even having a small kitchen facility, and was well worth the R650 (less than £50) per night. Breakfast is available on-site at a small additional cost, which suited us just fine. While the hotel was nothing special it provided us with the base we needed to explore this part of the Eastern Cape – we can strongly recommend a visit to the quite superb Addo Elephant NP if you're ever in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gvh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Big clean rooms with kitchenettes and good location close to the beach. Staff was nice and accomodating. The poolside area was nice but we would have appreciated beach chairs rather than just the mattresses to put directly on the grass.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Overall, our experience of the Brookes Hill Suites is probably less enthusiastic than some of the other reviews already here - great views weren't really in evidence and the staff were ok but not particularly welcoming or friendly.

We were staying just the one night in Port Elizabeth and, from that perspective, Brookes Hill Suites, worked for us. The room was larger than we expected, fairly comfortable and clean.

Ok but nothing really special.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Canavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2008

I was really surprised by Brookes Hill Suites. The accomodation was lovely - clean, spacious rooms (that were kept that way on a daily basis) and a wonderful view of the beaches and gardens below.
The staff there were very friendly and accomodating.
I don't know if it's because of booking via a website, but our booking did say 'double bed' and we got twin singles. Not the end of the world though.
The breakfast (which was included in the price of our stay) had plenty of variety of hot/cold food alike.
It is very conveniently located for those who just want to relax at the beach all day and if you don't want to walk across the road, you can lounge by the pool in the complex.
Parking in-season within the complex was sometimes tight, but everyone was fitted in.
Overall, a fantastic, comfortable stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SunnySALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

Brookes Hill was an excellent choice for our time in Port Elizabeth. The room size is a bit bigger than the average and it even has a kitchenette which came in handy. Value for money: clean, breakfast superb,great views (toward the pier side)service 7* and safety. Brookes Hill is in a league of it's own

David and Samantha

Australia

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dave-alridge27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2006

The web site for this hotel would have you believe that there are spectacular views and spacious rooms -- not so. Fortunately we were only there for one night and, as we arrived late and do not know Port Elizabeth, we elected to stay. We, two couples, had booked two rooms with either king or two twins in each. As soon as we arrived I specifically asked which they were and was told after a little hesitation that they were side by side twins. When we and the lone porter lugged our bags to the rooms (up and down stairs - no elevator)- they both had queen beds. When I returned to the desk the young woman who had assured me the beds were as specified in our booking, picked up the phone turned her back on me and refused to deal with me. Finally a young man came out and rectified the problem and we went to our rooms with the proper beds. However, our small room reeked of smoked, was grubby with a cramped, airless bathroom that had rust and other unidentifiable material on fixtures, tiles and door. The final straw was when our friends came down to share our safe (their room did not have one) and sat on a chair and the seat gave way. Our sea view was over the top of most of the fast food restaurants in town, a major road and parking lots. We found it is a tour group hotel next morning when we had to fight for the average breakfast. There is no restaurant in the hotel. I would not recommend this place to anyone -- it's just nasty!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Trippinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
488 reviews
1 mi away
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine
1.1 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Bay BnB
Blue Bay BnB
#6 of 13 in Summerstrand
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#14 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookes Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookes Hill Suites

Address: Lower Brookes Hill Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £56 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookes Hill Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brookes Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookes Hill Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing